Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie Ihr lokales Vertriebsbüro

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • DATA MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Vault

    Zentrale Plattform für ECAD-Designdaten, Bibliotheken, Workflow und Team-Management

  • Ciiva

    Intelligent Parts Database for Achieving Realizable Design

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • INTEGRATION SERVICES
  • AgileXPLORER

    Parametric Search & Navigation of Product Data in Oracle/Agile - PLM

  • EDAConnect

    Direct Link Between Altium Environment & Enterprise PLM

  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • Altium Designer 17

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    Komplexe Videosysteme heben mit Altium Designer Integration und Automation ab

    Die extrem hohen Anforderungen bei der Aufnahme, Verarbeitung und Analyse von Videomaterial machen das Systemdesign sehr anspruchsvoll. Fügen Sie jetzt physikalische und elektrische Anforderungen hinzu, wie z. B. Stromversorgungen mit hohem Störpegel, extreme Temperaturen und Umgebungen für militärische und industrielle Anwendungen in rauer Umgebung. Wenn Sie sich nun weitergehend vorstellen, dass beengte Platzverhältnisse, Vibrationen und hohe G-Kräfte beim Entwurf zu berücksichtigen sind, dann können Sie sich ausmalen, mit welchen Problemen die Designer bei Digital Design Corporation (DDC) täglich zu kämpfen haben.

    Die Erfüllung all dieser Rahmenbedingungen erfordert eine enge Zusammenarbeit der vielen Design-Disziplinen wie System-, Schaltplan-, Leiterplatten-, Mechanik-, Chip-, Firmware- und Softwaredesign. Dies gilt vor allem bei modernen digitalen High-Speed-Designs, wo die schnellen Schaltfrequenzen auf einer Leiterplatte einen breiten Erfahrungsschatz und leistungsstarke Werkzeuge benötigen. Der Design-Prozess kann viele Iterationen erfordern, um ein optimales System zu erhalten. Deshalb bietet DDC seinen Hardware-Designern eine integrierte Design-Umgebung auf Basis von Altium Designer. DDC setzt auf seine umfangreiche Bibliotheken, intelligente Automatisierung und interdisziplinäre Integration und kann so alle alle Zielkonflikte beim Design seiner höchst anspruchsvollen Produkte lösen.

    Ein Hardware-Entwickler nimmt eine 22-lagige Platine in Angriff.

    Der Video und Advanced Data Recorder (VAADR) von DDC bietet Aufnahmen in Echtzeit und hochauflösende Wiedergabe bei Anwendungen für raue Umgebungen. Das System nimmt 16-Bit-Videos mit hohen Bildraten auf und generiert I/O-Datenströme mit mehreren Gigabit. Das System war ursprünglich für die militärische Luftfahrt konzipiert, der Großteil der Funktionalität befindet sich auf einer Steuereinheit, die mit herausnehmbaren Speichermodulen ausgestattet ist.

    DDC hat seine weitreichende Erfahrung mit neuesten FPGAs höchster Dichte genutzt, um die Rechenleistung und Speicherkapazität der Steuereinheit in einer kompakten Bauform zu implementieren. Mit FPGAs ist es zwar sehr einfach, Systemhardware und -software fein abzustimmen, aber die schiere Größe dieser Bauteile (weit über 1.000 Pins) stellt eine riesige Herausforderung beim Leiterplatten-Design und -Layout dar. Darüber hinaus sind die militärischen und industriellen Anwendungen, bei denen das System zum Einsatz kommt, für eine schlecht regulierte Spannungsversorgung berüchtigt. Die funktionalen, thermischen und elektrischen Randbedingungen des Systems haben DDC veranlasst, eine 22-lagige Leiterplatte zu erstellen. Diese wurde von einem einzigen Hardware-Entwickler entworfen, der mit Altium Designer arbeitet.

    Integrations- und Automatisierungsarbeit für DDC

    Mike Cortopassi, Chef-Entwickler, erklärt: „Bei DDC erstellt der Hardware-Entwickler die Schaltpläne und das Leiterplatten-Layout. Ich habe das Design gemacht; ich kenne die Architektur, also weiß ich auch, wie das Routen funktioniert. Altium Designer ist perfekt für die Art, wie wir arbeiten.“

    Die mitgelieferten Bauteilbibliotheken von Altium Designer machen es für Mike viel einfacher, Schaltpläne zu erstellen, dies gilt auch für die großen FPGAs von Altera und Xilinx, die DDC einsetzt. Mike erklärt: „Ein Bauteil mit 1.800 Pins für die Bibliothek selbst erstellen zu wollen und das ohne einen Fehler zu machen, bedeutet einen ungeheuren Aufwand.“

    Die Automatisierung von datenintensiven Arbeitsabläufen half dabei, Mikes Design schnell fertigzustellen und Fehler zu vermeiden. So konnte sich Mike den nötigen Freiraum verschaffen, um sich auf die Optimierung kritischer Signale zu konzentrieren. „Das automatisierte Tauschen von Pins während des Routings war ein großes Plus bei der Sicherstellung wichtiger Verbindungen“, sagt er. „Ich kann schnell Änderungen an der Pinbelegung der FPGAs vornehmen und die Netzliste so oft wie ich will an den FPGA-Designer zurückgeben.“

    Die Integration von Schaltplänen und des PCB-Designs funktionierte auch gut in die andere Richtung. „Wenn ich eine neue Stromversorgung gebraucht habe, habe ich nur ein anderes Bauteil in den Schaltplan mit aufgenommen, in das PCB-Design übergeben und das Routing ergänzt." Dass man in der Lage ist, zwischen Schaltplan- und PCB-Design wechseln zu können, ist wichtig für einen effizienten, fehlerfreien Design-Zyklus — vor allem deswegen, da dies mehrmals pro Stunde auftreten könnte.

    Fehlervermeidung und Prozessoptimierung

    Nach der Fertigstellung des Designs hat Altium Designer automatisch die Ausgabedaten für die Herstellung erstellt. Als die erste Version aus der Produktion kam, schloss DDC die Spannungsversorgung an. Innerhalb einer Stunde war die Leiterplatte in Betrieb und der FPGA-Designer begann mit dem Testen des FPGAs. Mike schätzt die Integration und Automatisierung in Altium Designer. „Altium Designer gibt mir jede Gelegenheit, Fehler vor der Freigabe des Designs zu finden.“

    Während die VAADR getestet und überarbeitet wurde und Tests unter Umgebungsbedingungen durchlief, führte DDC zahlreiche Revisionen und Verbesserungen an der Leiterplatte durch. „Design-Änderungen wurden sehr schnell umgesetzt, dabei vereinfachten automatische Ausgabedaten die kleinen Design-Änderungen.“ Der erste Kunde war mit dem System sehr zufrieden und die daraus resultierende Leiterplatte gehört nun zum Standardproduktportfolio von DDC. Heute startet DDC das Design einer neuen, noch leistungsstärkeren Version des VAADR – mit Altium Designer.

    Produkt

    Der Video und Advanced Data Recorder (VAADR) von DDC ist ein High-End-Video- und Datenrekorder für anspruchsvolle Anwendungen in den Bereichen Militär, Luftfahrt, Fahrzeugbau, Forschung und andere Anwendungen. Das Gerät bietet Echtzeit-Aufnahme von mehreren Kanälen mit hoher Bildrate und 16-Bit-hochauflösenden Bildern. Es speichert Bilder im RAW-Format oder als komprimierte Dateien zusammen mit Metadaten wie Zeitstempel, GPS und anderen Metadaten. Mehrfach vorhandene Kanäle für die Unterstützung von Aufzeichnung und Wiedergabe ermöglichen eine moderne Bildanalyse und Bildverarbeitung während der Wiedergabe.

    Unternehmen

    Digital Design Corporation (DDC) ist ein Entwicklungs-Beratungsunternehmen mit High-End-Design-Dienstleistungen und Produkten. Das Unternehmen erstellt Architekturen, entwirft und implementiert integrierte Schaltkreise (FPGAs, ASICs, etc.) nebst den zugehörigen Schaltungen, Systemen und Software. Das Unternehmen spezialisiert sich auf Video (Schnittstellen, Optimierung und Aufzeichnung), Bildverarbeitung, Kommunikation, DSP und Audio in einer Vielzahl von Märkten wie Militär, Fahrzeugbau, Medizintechnik und andere industrielle Märkte. Das Unternehmen hat über 400 Jahre kumulative digitale Design-Erfahrung, die Dienstleistungen umfassen den gesamten Prozess von der Konzepterstellung bis zur Chipherstellung.
    Angeboten wird alles von der Erstellung der anfänglichen Architektur bis zum kompletten Design und Verifikation, auch können Prototypen erstellt und Produktionen aufgebaut werden und auch Support kann geleistet werden.

    Related Stories

    Innovative audio equipment manufacturer Accuphase Laboratories uses Altium Designer to create high-performance audio equipment.

    Read more

    Developing rapid prototypes is all in a day’s work for Gryphon Systems Engineering

    Read more

    Bluefin Robotics is seeing a sea change in E-CAD M-CAD design integration with Altium Designer.

    Read more
    We are happy to assist you!
    contact us how to buy support
    Сall Sales - Europe
    +49 721 8244 300

    Not your Region?

    Our agents are not available right now. Please leave a message and we'll get back to you.

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Intuitive PCB Design Technology with Professional Capacity

  • CircuitMaker

    Streamlined PCB Design Tool Custom Built for Your Community

  • DATA MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Vault

    Comprehensive Design Data Management Solution

  • Ciiva

    Intelligent Parts Database for Achieving Realizable Design

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • INTEGRATION SERVICES
  • AgileXPLORER

    Parametric Search & Navigation of Product Data in Oracle/Agile - PLM

  • EDAConnect

    Direct Link Between Altium Environment & Enterprise PLM

  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • Altium Designer 17

    Stress-free, Native 3D™ PCB design for professionals

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Complex Video Systems Take Flight With Altium Designer Integration and Automation

    The sheer number-crunching requirements of video image recording, processing and analysis make any system design very challenging. Now add in the physical and electrical requirements, such as noisy power supplies and the extreme temperatures and environments of military and rugged industrial applications. Complicate the design further with cramped size requirements, vibration, and high G-forces and you get a sense of what the designers at Digital Design Corporation (DDC) face on a daily basis.

    Meeting all these constraints requires close collaboration among many design disciplines including system, schematic, board, mechanical, chip, firmware and software. This is especially so with modern high speed digital designs, where the high frequencies on a board require a broad experience base and high powered tools. The design process may require many iterations to settle upon an optimum system. That’s why DDC gives its hardware designers an integrated design environment based on Altium Designer. Relying on its comprehensive libraries, smart automation, and crossdiscipline integration, DDC can quickly balance all the design tradeoffs within its most demanding products.

    One hardware engineer tackles a 22-layer board

    The DDC Video and Advanced Data Recorder (VAADR) provides real-time recording and playback of highresolution imagery in ruggedized applications. The system captures and generates multi-gigabit I/O streams of high-frame-rate 16-bit video. Initially designed for military avionics applications, most of the functionality resides on one controller board that interfaces with removable storage modules.

    DDC leveraged its deep experience with the latest, densest FPGAs to implement the controller board’s processing and storage capabilities in a compact package. While the FPGAs make it easier to fine-tune system hardware and software, their large sizes (well over 1,000 pins) introduce a huge board design and layout challenge. In addition, the military and industrial applications that the system works within are notorious for poorly regulated power sources. The system’s functional, thermal, and electrical constraints drove DDC to create a 22-layer board, produced by a single hardware engineer working on Altium Designer.

    Integration and automation work for DDC

    Mike Cortopassi, Principal Staff Engineer, explains: “At DDC, the hardware engineer builds the schematics and the board layout. I’ve done the design; I know the architecture, so I know how the routing needs to perform. Altium Designer is perfect for the way we work.”

    Altium Designer’s built-in component libraries make it much easier for Mike to create schematics, with even the large Altera and Xilinx FPGAs that DDC depends on. Mike explains: “Trying to build a library model of a part with 1,800 pins and not make a mistake is a tremendous effort.”

    Automation of data-intensive steps accelerated Mike’s design and helped lock out errors. That freed Mike to concentrate on tweaking critical paths. “Automated pin-swapping during routing was a big plus to ensure critical routes,” he says. “I can quickly make changes to the FPGA pinout and push the netlist back to the FPGA designer as often as I need to.” 

    The integration of schematics and board design worked well in the other direction too. “If I needed a new power supply rail, I just put another part on the schematic, push it into the PCB design, and completed the route.” Being able to switch between schematic and board design was important for an efficient, errorfree design cycle—especially since it could happen multiple times in an hour.

    Preventing errors and improving processes

    Upon design completion, Altium Designer automatically generated the manufacturing output files. The first revision came back and DDC hooked up the power supplies. Within an hour, the board was operational and the FPGA designer was beginning evaluation of the FPGA. Mike gives the integration and automation in Altium Designer credit. “Altium Designer gives me every opportunity to catch the errors before they can be released.”

    As the VAADR was tested, revised and put through environmental testing, DDC made numerous revisions and improvements in the board. “Design spins were done very quickly, and automatic output files simplified the small design changes.” The initial customer was very pleased with the system, and the resulting board is now part of DDC’s standard product portfolio. Today, DDC is launching the design of a new, even more powerful version of the VAADR – using Altium Designer.

    Product

    The DDC Video and Advanced Data Recorder (VAADR) is a high-end video and data recorder for highly demanding applications in military, airborne, vehicular, research and other applications. It provides real-time recording of multiple channels of high-frame rate, 16-bit high-resolution imagery. It stores RAW or compressed imagery along with metadata such as timestamps and GPS and other metadata. Its multiple channels of record and playback support advanced image analysis and processing during playback.

    Company

    Digital Design Corporation (DDC) is an engineering consulting company with high-end design services and products. It architects, designs, and implements ICs (FPGAs, ASICs, etc), associated circuits and software, and the systems that encompass them. The company specializes in video (interfacing, enhancement, and recording), image processing, communications, DSP and audio in wide variety of military, automotive, medical and other industrial markets. The company has over 400 years of cumulative digital design experience, working the entire process from concept to foundry, 
    including everything from initial architecture through complete design and verification, including the ability to provide prototype and/or production builds and support.

    Related Stories

    For over 20 years, Jotron Phontech has offered an extensive and flexible range of audio products which have been carefully designed and built for harsh maritime environments. Their systems are in use worldwide on merchant ships, fishing vessels, tug boats, offshore supply vessels, as well as various navy ships and offshore oil and gas installations.

    Read more

    World leading developer of HF radar technology, BAE Systems Australia uses Altium Designer to create cutting-edge signal systems for Australia's unique Over The Horizon surveillance radar.

    Read more

    Geolux is a pioneering enterprise specializing in the development and production of radar sensors.

    Read more
    We are happy to assist you!
    contact us how to buy support
    Сall Sales - United States
    +1 800-544-4186
    +1 800-231-0951
    Not your Region?

    Our agents are not available right now. Please leave a message and we'll get back to you.