Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie Ihr lokales Vertriebsbüro

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • Nexus

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • DATA MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Vault

    Zentrale Plattform für ECAD-Designdaten, Bibliotheken, Workflow und Team-Management

  • Ciiva

    Intelligent Parts Database for Achieving Realizable Design

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • INTEGRATION SERVICES
  • AgileXPLORER

    Parametric Search & Navigation of Product Data in Oracle/Agile - PLM

  • EDAConnect

    Direct Link Between Altium Environment & Enterprise PLM

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • Altium Designer 17

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    Der Nachbau eines Klassikers erfordert einen modernen Touch

    Die Geschichte

    Linn Products - Grundlage dieses Unternehmens ist die Philosophie „Musik ist fürs Leben“. Es ist eine Philosophie, die mit dem renommierten Sondek LP12-Plattenspieler vor mehr als 35 Jahren begann und heute mit einer immer mehr wachsenden Sammlung von High-End Audiosystemen andauert.

    Unter der Reproduktion von Musik versteht Linn Products weniger das Entwickeln eindrucksvoller Hi-Fi-Systeme, sondern mehr die authentische Abbildung der Absicht eines Musikers. Elektronikentwickler Ian Wilson führt weiter aus: „Musik folgt mit Akkordfolgen, Rhythmen, Schwankungen im Timing und Anderem einer bestimmten Struktur. Linn Products möchte sorgfältig gewährleisten, dass wir sämtliche Informationen musikalisch, und nicht im Sinne bloßer Hi-Fi-Technik abbilden”.

    Diese Aussage erlangte eine besondere Realitätsnähe, als Linn Products entschied, einen neuen Tonabnehmer für seine Ikone, den Sondek LP12-Plattenspieler, zu konzipieren. Das Original wurde 1972 entwickelt und blieb seither das Vorzeigeprodukt des Unternehmens. Eine Veränderung dieses Geräts war mit der Konzeption eines sehr modernen Stils für Linn Products verbunden.

    „Erst vor kurzem entwickelten wir einen neuen Tonabnehmer für den LP12 mit der Bezeichnung Eureka. Wir hätten uns vorher nicht vorstellen können, einen solchen High-End-Tonabnehmer in den LP12 einbauen zu können. Aber mit den ECAD-MCAD-Funktionen von Altium Designer konnten wir schnell feststellen, wie wir durch eine Faltung die zwei Teile der Leiterplatte besser miteinander verschachteln können. So können wir den neuen Tonabnehmer den Beschränkungen eines Plattenspielers aus den 1970er-Jahren anpassen und unserem Produkt neuen Aufschwung geben." so Ian Wilson .

    Die Ästhetik spielt bei Audiosystemen generell eine wesentliche Rolle, doch für Linn Produkts bleiben solche Überlegungen nicht auf die externen Gehäuse eines Produktes begrenzt, sondern beziehen sich auch auf die elektronischen Bauteile. Jedes Produkt muss auch in seinem Äußeren die Präzisionstechnik präsentieren, in der es ganzheitlich auch konzipiert ist. Dies zeigt sich insbesondere durch vollendete, verzögerungsfreie und rauschfreie Elektronik, die für ein High-End Audio-System die Grundlage bilden.

    „Durch Möglichkeit der dreidimensionalen Modellierung mit Altium Designer können wir uns bereits das endgültige Aussehen der Leiterplatte vergegenwärtigen, noch bevor wir es an die Kollegen vom mechanischen Design übergeben. Altium Designer lässt uns mühelos in einem einzigen Vorgang von Design zu Layout gehen und dann vom PCB-Layout bis zum Mechanik-Design. Dieser Prozess ist im Vergleich zu unseren vorherigen CAD-Paketen stark vereinfacht.”

    Und das ist der hauptsächliche Grund, warum Linn Products zu Altium Designer gewechselt sind. Vor dem Wechsel zu Altium Designer hatte Linn Products eine Serie unterschiedlicher Werkzeuge zur Entwicklung ihrer elektronischen Designs eingesetzt. Daraus ergaben sich mehrfache Problemstellungen, weil für die Techniker kein klarer Zusammenhang zwischen dem Schaltplan und dem Leiterplatten-Layout ersichtlich wurde. Allein das erforderliche Kommunikationsniveau zu gewährleisten, bewies sich als eine Vollzeitarbeit und die Entwickler investierten mehr Zeit in die Verwaltung der Werkzeuge als in ihre eigene Kreativität.

    „Uns wurde klar, dass Altium Designer ein deutlich integrierteres Werkzeug ist. Der Informationsfluss von der Schaltplanerstellung bis hin zum Layout gelingt uns reibungslos, ist zudem in die Unternehmensdatenbank integriert, sodass wir die Materialien in hoher Schnelligkeit beschaffen können. Wir können präzise Daten an unser Service-Team zur Bestückung der Leiterplatten übergeben. Wir können Ausgabedaten prüfen, bevor wir sie an den PCB-Hersteller übermitteln. All dies gibt uns mehr Zeit, Entwickler und vor allem kreative Entwickler zu sein, was uns weiterhin ermöglicht, bessere Produkte an unsere Kunden zu liefern.”

    Genau an dieser Stelle ist Altium für Linn Products ein wertvoller Helfer bei der Umsetzung der Philosophie „Musik ist fürs Leben“. Durch die Vereinheitlichung des Design-Verfahrens und durch die Bereitstellung einer höheren Abstraktionsebene können die Entwickler bei Linn Products unter Verwendung von Altium Designer ihrer Kreativität freien Lauf lassen. Die Ausschöpfung der Funktionen von Altium Designer, wie z. B. das vereinheitlichte hierarchische Design, erhält Linn Products eine regelrechte Vogelperspektive über das elektronische Design und die Detailkonzeption wird nicht mehr benötigt.

    „Weil wir das gesamte Projekt aus der System-Block-Ebene betrachten können und wissen, dass einige Blöcke wiederverwendet werden, können wir uns so auf die neuen, unterscheidbaren Teile des Projektes konzentrieren. Wir können mehr Kreativität in die neuen Projektbereiche einbringen und endlose Wiederholungen von Arbeitsschritten gehören nun der Vergangenheit an. Das Ergebnis sind schnellere Bearbeitungszeiten von Projekten und bessere Projekte, würde ich sagen.

    Wichtigstes Element des Design-Verfahrens ist es, unsere Bemühungen auf die Generierung von Mehrwert zu Gunsten des Kunden zu konzentrieren und nicht dieselben Design-Elemente wie in einer Endlosschleife immer wieder neu zu entwerfen. Wir erschaffen einen Mehrwert, wenn wir kreativer sein können.“

    Vom Design bis zur Herstellung - ein Design-Werkzeug, ein Standort

    Für Linn Products geht das Prinzip eines vereinheitlichten Elektronikdesignsystems über das des Elektronik-Designs hinaus. Der Grund: Design, Herstellung und Versand von Linn Products gehen alle vom selben Ort, deren Hauptsitz in Glasgow, Schottland, aus. Diese Vorgabe kann Altium Designer erfüllen: Die Design-Daten von Linn Products werden vereinheitlicht, so dass die Entwickler ihre Daten nach dem Bedarf des Hersteller-Teams vor Ort ausgeben und anpassen können.

     

    „Das Werkzeug zur Datenausgabe ist sehr nützlich - ein Mausklick und wir sind fertig. Wir wissen, dass ein einheitliches und präzises Set an Ausgabedaten erzeugt wird, auf das meine Kollegen vom Vertrieb zugreifen können. Es ist einheitlich und zuverlässig.“

     

    Und genau das ist für Linn Products wichtig, denn die Umsetzung des Endprodukts, des endgültigen Teils der Präzisionstechnik ist ausschlaggebend für die Erfahrung des Endverbrauchers. Deshalb entwickelt das Unternehmen ihre Produkte hausintern und setzt ein vereinheitlichtes System für das Elektronik-Design ein.

    „Wenn alles reibungslos abläuft, sind die Entwickler entspannter und die Konstruktionen laufen wie am Schnürchen. Ein Projekt, dessen Arbeitsabläufe von Anfang bis Ende fließen, hat ein besseres Bilanzergebnis als eines, welches immer wieder unterbrochen wird und nur mit Mühe fertiggestellt wird.

    Bessere Elektroniksystem-Designs, die durch ein problemlos fließend integriertes Toolset umgesetzt werden können, lassen unsere Teams Musikprodukte höchster Qualität für unsere Kunden herstellen,“, so Ian Wilson.

    Über Linn Products

    Linn Products entwickelt, stellt her und verkauft High End Audio- und Heimkinoanlagen. Seit 1972 hat das Unternehmen einen führenden Namen in der Musikindustrie und einige der ausgereiftesten Audio- und Heimkinosysteme der Branche überhaupt entwickelt.

    Related Stories

    eSolar powers up design by using Altium Designer to create digital controllers that manage solar power stations.

    Read more

    Danish Interpretation Systems (DIS) uses Altium technology to develop the world’s most-advanced digital conference system.

    Read more

    Electronic Design Solutions is managing designs six times more complex with Altium Designer

    Read more
    We are happy to assist you!
    contact us how to buy support
    Сall Sales - Europe
    +49 721 8244 300

    Not your Region?

Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

      How to Buy

      Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

                                • Altium Designer

                                  Professional unified design system, high productivity stress-free environment and Native 3D™ PCB editor

                                • Altium Vault

                                  Centralized platform for ECAD design data, library, workflow and team management

                                • CircuitStudio

                                  Professional PCB design tool, ready to pick up and go

                                • Ciiva

                                  Transform intent into realizable design with intelligent parts that manage themselves, so you don't have to.

                                • CircuitMaker

                                  Streamlined PCB Design tool custom built for your community

                                • Altium Subscription

                                  Altium products are constantly being updated to provide the latest technology

                                • TASKING

                                  World-renowned for superior compiler technology, TASKING tools have been used for over 25 years

                                • Product Extensions

                                  Additional tools, analysis systems, support for new devices and design flows for Altium products

                                • Altium DXP Developer Platform

                                  Create and deploy custom extensions and business system integration for Altium products

                                • Octopart

                                  Fast, accurate, and easy to use component search, that connects you with supply chain and component data.

                                • Perception Software

                                  Making ECAD collaboration effortless in Agile PLM environments

                                Altium Designer 16

                                Stress-free, Native 3D™ PCB design for professionals


                                Maintain peak efficiency and productivity by always having access to the latest tools

                                • Forum

                                  Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

                                • Blog

                                  Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

                                • Ideas

                                  Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

                                • Bug Crunch

                                  Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

                                • Wall

                                  A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

                                • Beta Program

                                  Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools


                                Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

                                Customer Success

                                Our customers can be found changing every industry; see how

                                How to Buy

                                Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

                                • Documentation

                                  TechDocs is where you can find our extensive documentation online for free

                                • Training & Events

                                  View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

                                • Design Content

                                  Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

                                • Webinars

                                  Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

                                • Support

                                  Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

                                • Technical Papers

                                  Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

                                • Video Library

                                  Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

                                Recreating a classic requires a modern touch

                                The story

                                Linn Products is built on the philosophy that `music is for life’. It is a philosophy that was launched with its famous Sondek LP12 turntable more than 35 years ago and continues today with its growing collection of high-end audio systems.

                                For Linn Products, recreating music is less about developing impressive hi-fi systems and more about realizing the intention of the musician. Principal Electronics Design Engineer, Ian Wilson explains further: "Music tends to follow a certain structure with the chord progressions, the rhythms, the timings and the systems. Linn Products really pays attention to making sure that we reproduce all that information in a musical way and not just in a hi-fi way”.

                                This statement was particularly true when Linn Products decided to create a new phono stage for its iconic Sondek LP12 turntable. The original was developed in 1972 and since then it has been its flagship product. Updating it required a very modern touch for Linn Products.

                                “Most recently we did a new phono stage for the LP12 called Eureka. Previously we would not have imagined how we could fit such a high end phono stage inside the LP12. But with Altium Designer’s ECAD MCAD features we were able to quickly verify that folding the schematics over in half would allow us to nest the two parts of the board together. This let us fit the new phono inside the constraints of a turntable designed back in the 1970s and bring a new lease of life to our product,” said Ian Wilson.

                                The aesthetics of any audio systems is essential, but for Linn Products, they must go beyond the external casings of the product and incorporate the electronics as well. Each product must look like the piece of precision engineering that it is, displaying neat, high-speed, low-noise layouts that are essential for a high-end audio system.

                                “Altium’s 3D modeling helps us visualize what the board ultimately looks like, before we even commit it to our mechanical design colleagues. With Altium Designer, we can go from design to layout in a single effortless process, and then from the PCB layout through to the mechanical designs. This is a much more simplified process compared to our previous CAD packages.”

                                And that’s the reason why Linn Products moved to Altium Designer in the first place. Prior to moving to Altium Designer, Linn Products had used a series of disparate tools to develop its electronics designs. This caused several problems because the engineers had no clear link between the schematic and the board layout. It was almost a full-time job to get this level of interaction to take place and the engineers were spending more time maintaining the tool then being creative.

                                “What we've found with Altium Designer is that it is a much more integrated package. The flow of information from schematic to layout and ultimately through to design is seamless for us, it’s effortless, it integrates into the business database which allows us to create the materials rapidly. It allows us to get accurate information to our service team for populating the boards. We can verify gerbers before we send them off to the PCB manufacturer. All of these things just give us more time to be engineers and be creative engineers, and that allows us to make better products for our customers.”

                                This is where Altium helps Linn Products maintain its ‘Music for life’ philosophy. By unifying the design process and providing a higher level of abstraction, Altium Designer lets the engineers at Linn Products to be more creative. By using features such as Altium’s unified Hierarchical Design, Linn Products can take a high level view of the electronic design, removing the need for low-level detail.

                                “Being able to view the complete project at a system block level and knowing that some of those blocks are reuse elements, allows us to focus on the new differentiating parts of that project. We can spend more time being creative on the new areas of the project and less time is spent just re-implementing stuff we’ve done 101 times before. The net result is a faster turnaround of the project and I would say better projects.

                                “The most important part of the design process is to focus our efforts where we can add value to the customer and not to reiterate the same part of the design over and over again. We provide more value when we are able to be creative.”

                                Design to manufacture – one design tool, one location

                                For Linn Products, a unified electronics design system need to go further than the electronics design. This is because Linn Products design, manufacture and ship all from the same location, its headquarters in Glasgow, Scotland. Altium Designer meets this requirement by unifying Linn Product’s design data, letting the engineers output and customize their data to the needs of the on-site manufacturing team.


                                “The output job feature is a very useful tool that we can just click and almost forget. We know it’s going to generate a consistent and accurate set of output files that my colleagues on the business systems side can access. It’s consistent and reliable.”


                                And that’s important to Linn Products, because realizing the final product, that final piece of precision engineering is crucial to the end user experience. It’s the reason why the company develops their products in-house and the reason it uses a unified electronics design system.

                                “When everything flows seamlessly, the engineers are a bit more relaxed, and the designs flow. A project that flows from start to finish has a better net result than a project that stops and starts and is always struggling to get completed.

                                “Better electronic systems designs, realized via a smooth flowing integrated toolset, allows our team at Linn to focus on the highest quality music products for our customers,” says Ian Wilson.

                                About Linn Products

                                Linn Products designs, manufactures and sells high end audio and home theatre systems. Since 1972 it has developed as an icon for the music industry, developing some of the industry’s most-well engineered audio and home systems.

                                Related Stories

                                Developing rapid prototypes is all in a day’s work for Gryphon Systems Engineering

                                Read more

                                Electronic Design Solutions is managing designs six times more complex with Altium Designer

                                Read more

                                Altium’s design integration gives Esterline more control over aerospace and military system requirements.

                                Read more
                                We are happy to assist you!
                                contact us how to buy support
                                Сall Sales - United States
                                +1 800-544-4186
                                +1 800-231-0951
                                Not your Region?