Altium Designer Documentation

NEXUS—常见问题

Modified by Jun Chu on Mar 21, 2018

主页Altium NEXUS和Altium数据保险库未来发展简介

Altium NEXUS是一种容易实现的、基于团队PCB工作流的解决方案,旨在帮助设计团队成员透明自信地开展合作。作为一款新产品,毫无疑问人们会好奇Altium NEXUS是什么以及Altium NEXUS如何与Altium的其他解决方案兼容。本页面提供了许多关于Altium NEXUS常见问题的详细答案。

常见问题按照以下几个方面分类:


通用问题

不 - Altium Designer具有丰富的路线图,并将继续积极开发,以解决新技术,设计方法和功能,使设计人员在创建新PCB时更具效率。

Altium NEXUS将与Altium Designer 18.0一起发布。

Altium NEXUS利用“Altium数据保险库”技术(“Altium基础服务器”-AFS)平台,但是增加了当前“Altium数据保险库”产品中不具有的许多新功能。这些功能包括但不限于:工作流和过程定义及配置,集成任务管理和通知,PLM集成及许多其他功能。

  • Altium NEXUS - 为Windows桌面应用,建立在Altium Designer 18.0相同的平台(X2)上,具有相同的功能。另外,当与“Altium NEXUS服务器”连接后,表现出在工作流管理和协同方面的新功能。
  • Altium NEXUS 服务器 - 是数据和流程管理引擎的核心。 它是一款服务器产品,安装在本地(在中央专用服务器上)或用作服务。 它是Altium Vault技术和平台的自然后代。

现有Altium数据保险库客户

是。 Altium NEXUS服务器将以两种形式提供:内部部署(与之前的Altium Vault相同 - 将其安装在组织内部的机器上)和云(即软件即服务(SaaS)解决方案)。

绝对没有! Altium NEXUS服务器具有Altium Vault的所有功能以及更多功能(包括功能齐全的工作流引擎和PLM集成)。

您可以继续使用现有“Altium数据保险库”和Altium NEXUS或从“数据保险库”迁移至“Altium NEXUS服务器”。从技术上说,迁移至“Altium NEXUS服务器”与安装新的“数据保险库”更新一样简单。我们已经做出了很多努力来实现无缝和兼容性。

无需这样做,所有现有客户将会很容易地过渡至Altium NEXUS。安装Altium NEXUS,在现有“Altium数据保险库”注册,然后正常工作(利用Altium NEXUS产品而非Altium Designer设计实现兼容模式)。

数据保险库的客户和用户可切换至Altium NEXUS,并以完整的数据完整性和保存能力无缝连接至其现有“数据保险库”。对于具有有效维保期内的客户不收取额外费用。

作为一款脱机产品,Altium Vault 3.0将是我们最后一个具有新内容的版本,但是“数据保险库”技术将作为Altium NEXUS的核心部分继续发展与进步。在不久的将来,Altium NEXUS将提供一个其自身的服务器,该服务器将为协同、数据管理及过程管理提供新能力。这些新能力是通过“数据保险库”技术的整合和继续开发,以及最近Altium对Ciiva、Perception Software等的收购实现的。


关于Altium NEXUS服务器

以下内容为安装和运行内部预置“Altium NEXUS服务器”的建议系统要求。注意:这些建议适用于5名用户同时工作的情况。

  • 操作系统:Windows Server 2012 R2
  • 内存:16GB+
  • 处理器:Intel® Xeon®处理器或同等处理器(至少四核)
  • 磁盘空间:200GB
  • 数据库:Firebird

以下内容为安装和运行内部预置“Altium NEXUS服务器”的最低系统要求。注意:这些建议适用于5名用户同时工作的情况。

  • 操作系统:Windows 7
  • 内存:8GB+
  • 处理器:Intel Core i3/i5处理器或同等处理器(至少双核)
  • 磁盘空间:200GB
  • 数据库:Firebird

更多详情可以参见“系统要求”页面。— 即将面世

是的,对于Altium数据保险库,具有按照该版本发布的相应“Altium NEXUS服务器软件开发工具包”。“Altium NEXUS服务器软件开发工具包”将与Altium Designer的工具包相同(由于它们共享相同的平台)。

Altium NEXUS服务器的功能与Altium Vault 3.0的功能完全相同。它们均可以视情况从“全球元件数据库”(Global Parts Database )加载数据(结合Octopart+Ciiva指标)。

Altium NEXUS支持可以作为工作流一部分的Publish to PLM功能。Windchill版本11为第一个被支持的PLM,随后为其他版本。


Altium Designer和Altium NEXUS

不是,Altium NEXUS为单独应用,建立在Altium Designer的相同X2平台上(因此,具有相同的原理图/PCB设计能力),具有专注于“团队协作”和“过程管理”的额外功能。

不是—Altium NEXUS和Altium Designer包含完全相同的功能,该功能包含原理图和PCB设计。

是,“Altium内容数据保险库”仍然可供Altium Designer 18.0用户使用(预计AD18.1中将具有更大改进)。但是,只有安装和运行Altium NEXUS后,才能与你自己的现有“Altium数据保险库”连接。

是,为了能够对已经开始且在Altium Designer 16.x或Altium Designer 17.x中维持的项目进行持续设计,这些较旧版本将如同以前一样工作— 能够与“Altium数据保险库”或“Altium NEXUS服务器”连接(除新功能以外)。从Altium Designer 18.0起,不可能与“Altium数据保险库”或“Altium NEXUS服务器”连接。只有安装和运行Altium NEXUS后,才能与它们连接。

不能通过Altium NEXUS中的默认设置使用非托管内容,因为这并不建议。可以通过高级设置对话框中的以下选项恢复该功能 — 通过点击优选设置对话框系统 - 通用页面上的高级按钮实现:

  • 旧版本/非托管库
  • 旧版本/库面板

作为Altium NEXUS安装通用系统优选设置的高级设置的一部分,激活较旧的非托管元器件管理和“库”面板。

需要重启Altium NEXUS,从而让设置变更生效。

  默认情况下,只有注册托管内容服务器(现有“Altium数据保险库”或“Altium NEXUS服务器”)后才能开始/继续运行Altium NEXUS。如果组织机构的政策允许,离线(未连接)模式可以通过高级设置对话框中的以下选项激活— 通过点击“优选设置”对话框系统 - 通用页面上的高级按钮实现:

  • Nexus/离线模式

激活离线(未连接)模式,作为Altium NEXUS安装通用系统优选设置的高级设置的一部分。

需要重启Altium NEXUS,从而让设置变更生效。

是,PTC Creo CoDesigner将成为Altium NEXUS的一部分。实际上,我们正在积极寻找愿意测试该功能的Beta测试者。

是的,这可以通过安装SOLIDWORKS PCB连接器扩展来实现,可从扩展和更新页面的已购买选项卡中获得。

The following table summarizes which servers/vaults can be connected to, based on the version of Altium Design Software you are using.

设计软件/服务器 Altium NEXUS Server 1.0 ALTIUM数据保险库 ALTIUM工作区 SOLIDWORKS PCB连接器

ALTIUM内容数据保险库

无服务器
Altium NEXUS 1.0 1 1 3 2 5
Altium Designer 18.0
(or later)
4 2
Altium Designer 17.1
(or earlier)
1 4 2
  1. “兼容模式”—仅提供基本功能可用(元器件、设计和发布数据管理)。
  2. 只是公用元器件消耗(与以前一致)。
  3. 只有CoDesigner功能。可以从技术上建立连接,但是从实际情况来看无意义。
  4. 只有CoDesigner功能,与以前一致(即:无数据管理)。
  5. 应根据用户明确请求激活。不推荐。

许可证

从Altium Designer 18.0起,不再能够连接现有“Altium数据保险库”。Altium NEXUS“兼容包”为您提供Altium Designer 18.0中的相同核心设计功能,同时让您能够继续使用现有“Altium数据保险库”。如果出于某些原因想要保留Altium Vault 3和Altium Designer 17.1的当前版本,也可以这样做。但是,在这两种情况下,“Altium数据保险库”均不再进行功能增强,只是进行维护。

Altium NEXUS具有“兼容模式”,等同于与“数据保险库”连接的Altium Designer。过渡至该产品不会产生费用。


关于Altium NEXUS

Altium NEXUS是一个易于实施、基于团队的PCB工作流程解决方案,用于提供工程团队之间充满信心的合作所需的透明度。即使Altium NEXUS包含了创建电路板所需的所有各类行业领先的PCB领域编辑器,但其核心DNA是使设计团队共同合作。

当提供过程自动化和框架来配置普通电子设计活动和工作流程时,将通过用户角色和托管数据启用协同设计(元器件库和设计)。这提供了组织透明度以通过基于角色的通知来设计数据更改和工作流程状态。通过使用Altium NEXUS,公司将能够管理其PCB数据,改善与多学科工程相关的通讯,配置工作流并将其自动化以代替现有人工操作,从而设计周期得到缩短,且可在短时间内提供高质量产品。

Altium NEXUS 1.0在PCB数据管理、协同设计以及过程和工作流控制方面引入了新技术,使其成为最全面的电路板设计解决方案,同时也避免了集成和部署的风险。

不可以,Altium NEXUS专注于管理设计和工作流数据,因为这与进程中的PCB设计工作相关。这包括PCB库、项目、模板、设计发布、工作流和过程配置及与内容相关的版本控制、历史和元数据的管理。Altium NEXUS管理和集中PCB设计信息,从而容易将内容发布至PLM系统。

大部分电子产品并非由一名设计师制作,需要多人互动。工程设计和非设计相关的团队之间的交流面临挑战,通常基于电子邮件、会议或特别系统,以跟踪进程和变更。多个公司采用企业系统,仅仅实现成本、日常开支。工程设计领域的此等环境的可用性阻碍了设计进程。这是由于这些系统从未考虑到相关的设计工程师并且制定了与电子工作流程不一致的方法。

Altium NEXUS的开发旨在解决PCB设计过程中的当前交流和互动限制。 使得可以在设计创作期间和整个PCB工作流管理期间进行协作。Altium NEXUS构架为不仅与工程设计团队匹配,而且与对PCB设计做出贡献的所有参与人匹配。流程是可配置的,使您可以将工作流程与公司的运营方式相匹配,而不是改变组织的流程以匹配系统。 它的重点在于如何通过简化合作来设计。 下图突出显示了Altium产品套件以及它们如何基于设计类型和参与者匹配

Altium产品及它们如何基于设计类型和参与者匹配。

 

Found an issue with this document? Highlight the area, then use Ctrl+Enter to report it.

联系我们

联系原厂或当地办公室

You are reporting an issue with the following selected text
and/or image within the active document:
Request Free Trial

Complete this form to request a free 15 day trial of Altium Designer:

Altium Designer Documentation

NEXUS - FAQs

Modified by Jason Howie on Jun 16, 2018

Parent page: Introducing Altium NEXUS and the Future of the Altium Vault

Altium NEXUS is an easy to implement, team-based PCB workflow solution designed to provide the transparency needed for engineering teams to collaborate with confidence. As with any new product offering, there will undoubtedly be questions as to what it is, and how it fits in with other design solutions from Altium. This page provides detailed answers to many of the frequently asked questions regarding Altium NEXUS.

FAQs are clustered into the following areas:


General

No - Altium Designer has a rich roadmap and will continue to be aggressively developed to address new technology, design methodology, and features that enable designers to be more productive when creating new PCBs.

Altium NEXUS will be released alongside Altium Designer 18.0.

Altium NEXUS utilizes the platform of Altium Vault technology (AFS - Altium Foundation Server), but adds a lot of new functionality that does not exist in the current Altium Vault product.  This includes, but is not limited to, workflow & process definition and configuration, integrated task management and notification, PLM Integration, and a host of other features.

  • Altium NEXUS - is a Windows desktop application, built on the same platform (X2) as Altium Designer 18.0, and with the same capabilities. In addition, when connected to the Altium NEXUS Server, exposes new functionality in workflow management and collaboration.
  • Altium NEXUS Server - is the core of the data and process management engine. It is a server product, that is installed on-premise (on central dedicated server) or used as a service. It is a natural descendant of the Altium Vault technology and platform.

Existing Altium Vault Customers

Yes. The Altium NEXUS Server will be available in two incarnations: On-premise (same as Altium Vault before - you install it on your machine inside of your organization) and cloud (i.e. a Software as a Service (SaaS) solution).

Absolutely none! The Altium NEXUS Server has all the capabilities of the Altium Vault plus a lot more (including a fully functional Workflow engine and PLM Integration).

You can simply continue to use your existing Altium Vault with Altium NEXUS, or migrate from your Vault to the Altium NEXUS Server. Technically, migration to the Altium NEXUS Server will be as simple as installing a new update to the Vault. We have put a lot of the effort to make that seamless and effortless.

There is no need to do that, all existing customers will have a transparent and effortless way of transitioning to Altium NEXUS. Install Altium NEXUS, and sign in to your existing Altium Vault, to carry on working as normal (a compatibility mode as it were, with you designing with the Altium NEXUS product, instead of Altium Designer).

Customers and users of the Vault can switch to Altium NEXUS and connect seamlessly to their existing Vault with full data integrity and preservation of capabilities. There is no additional charge to customers who are on active maintenance subscriptions.

As a standalone product, Altium Vault 3.0 will be our last release with new capabilities, yet the Vault technology will continue to evolve and advance as a core part of Altium NEXUS. In the near future, Altium NEXUS will offer a server of its own that will expose new capabilities for collaboration, data management, and process management. These new capabilities are made possible through the integration and continued development of technologies from Vault, as well as recent Altium acquisitions of Ciiva, Perception Software, and more.


Altium NEXUS Server

Recommended

The following are the recommended system requirements to install and run an on-premise Altium NEXUS Server. Note that these recommendations are for 5 concurrent users.

  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • RAM: 16GB+
  • Processor: Intel® Xeon® processor or equivalent (4 or more cores)
  • Disk space: 200GB
  • Database: Firebird

Minimum

The following are the minimum system requirements to install and run an on-premise Altium NEXUS Server. Note that these recommendations are for 5 concurrent users.

  • OS: Windows 7
  • RAM: 8GB+
  • Processor: Intel Core i3/i5 processor or equivalent (2 or more cores)
  • Disk space: 200GB
  • Database: Firebird

More detail can be found on the System Requirements page. --coming soon

Yes, as with the Altium Vault, there will be a corresponding Altium NEXUS Server SDK, published following the release. The Altium NEXUS SDK will be the same as that for Altium Designer (as they share the same platform).

Altium NEXUS Server capabilities are identical to those for Altium Vault 3.0. Both of them optionally can load data from our Global Parts Database (combined Octopart+Ciiva indexes).

Altium NEXUS will support a Publish to PLM feature that can be specified as part of your workflow. Windchill version 11 will be the first supported PLM with others to follow.

Yes, absolutely. As with the Altium Vault before it, the Altium NEXUS Server will support the choice of either Firebird (the default) or Oracle as its backend database.

No, this is not possible. Since the Altium NEXUS Server is effectively the successor to the Altium Vault, installing it on a machine upon which the Altium Vault currently exists will simply update your Vault to the NEXUS Server.


Altium Designer and Altium NEXUS

No, Altium NEXUS is a separate application, built on the same X2 platform as Altium Designer (and therefore with identical schematic/PCB design capabilities) with additional functionality focused on Team Collaboration and Process Management.

No - Altium NEXUS and Altium Designer contain the exact same functionality as it pertains to schematic and PCB design.

Yes, the Altium Content Vault will remain available to users of Altium Designer 18.0 (with greater improvements scheduled to come along in AD18.1). Connectivity to your own, existing Altium Vault however, is available only after installing and running Altium NEXUS, unless you upgrade your Vault to an Altium NEXUS Server.

Yes, to allow continued design of projects started and maintained in either Altium Designer 16.x or Altium Designer 17.x, these older versions will work as before - with ability to connect to an Altium Vault or Altium NEXUS Server (with the exception of new functionality of course). Starting from Altium Designer 18.0, there is no possibility to connect to an Altium Vault, but you will be able to connect to an Altium NEXUS Server. Connection to an Altium Vault will only be available by installing and running Altium NEXUS.

Use of unmanaged content is disabled by default in Altium NEXUS, as it is not recommended. You can restore this functionality by enabling the following options in the Advanced Settings dialog - accessed by clicking the Advanced button, on the System - General page of the Preferences dialog:

  • Legacy.UnManagedLibraries
  • Legacy.LibraryPanel

Enable older, unmanaged component management methodologies, as well as the Libraries panel, as part of the advanced settings for your Altium NEXUS installation's general system preferences.

You will need to restart Altium NEXUS for the changes to these settings to take effect.

By default, Altium NEXUS will only launch/continue to run, while you are signed into your managed content server (existing Altium Vault, or Altium NEXUS Server). Offline (unconnected) mode, if it is permitted by your organization's policies, can be enabled by enabling the following option in the Advanced Settings dialog - accessed by clicking the Advanced button, on the System - General page of the Preferences dialog:

  • Nexus.OfflineMode

Enable offline (unconnected) mode, as part of the advanced settings for your Altium NEXUS installation's general system preferences.

You will need to restart Altium NEXUS for the change to this setting to take effect.

Yes, PTC Creo CoDesigner will be part of Altium NEXUS. In fact, we are actively looking for Beta testers who are willing to test that functionality.

Yes. In Altium Designer this is available through installation of the SOLIDWORKS PCB Connector extension, available from the Purchased tab of the Extensions & Updates page. In Altium NEXUS, this functionality is facilitated through the Collaboration panel.

The following table summarizes which servers/vaults can be connected to, based on the version of Altium Design Software you are using.

Design Software\Server Altium NEXUS Server 1.0 Altium Vault SOLIDWORKS PCB Services

Altium Content Vault

Altium NEXUS 1.0 1 3 2
Altium Designer 18.0 1 4 2
Altium Designer 17.1
(or earlier)
1 4 2
  1. 'Compatability Mode' - only basic functionality available (component, design, and release data management).
  2. Only public components consumption (same as before).
  3. While technically possible to connect to this server from Altium NEXUS, CoDesigner functionality is not supported. An Altium NEXUS Server is required for ECAD-MCAD Collaboration.
  4. Only CoDesigner functionality, same as before (i.e. no data management).
Altium Designer and Altium NEXUS can both be used without a Server. By default, Altium NEXUS will only launch/continue to run, while you are signed into your managed content server. Offline (unconnected) mode, if it is permitted by your organization's policies, can be enabled by enabling the Nexus.OfflineMode option in the Advanced Settings dialog - accessed by clicking the Advanced button, on the System - General page of the Preferences dialog.

Licensing

From Altium Designer 18.0, you will no longer be able to connect to your existing Altium Vault. The Altium NEXUS 'compatibility package' gives you the same core design functionality found in Altium Designer 18.0, while allowing you to continue using your existing Altium Vault. Alternatively, you could upgrade your Altium Vault 3 to an Altium NEXUS Server - the functionality for the two servers is the same.

If for some reason you would like to stay on the current version of Altium Vault 3 and Altium Designer 17.1, you can do that too, but in both cases the Altium Vault will no longer receive feature enhancements, only maintenance.

Altium NEXUS has a "compatibility mode", which is equivalent to Altium Designer connected to Vault. There is no cost to transition to this product.


About Altium NEXUS

Altium NEXUS is an easy to implement, team-based PCB workflow solution designed to provide the transparency needed for engineering teams to collaborate with confidence. Even though Altium NEXUS includes all the various industry leading PCB domain editors required to create a circuit board, its core DNA is enabling design teams to work together.  

Design collaboration is enabled through user roles and managed data (library and design), while providing process automation and a framework to configure common electronic design activities and workflows. This provides organizational transparency to design data changes and workflow states through role based notification. By using Altium NEXUS, companies will have the ability to manage their PCB data, improve communication as it relates to multidisciplinary engineering, and configure and automate workflows replacing existing manual processes - resulting in the reduction of design respins and delivery of higher quality products in a shorter period of time.

Altium NEXUS 1.0 introduces new technology in PCB data management, design collaboration, and process and workflow control, making it the most comprehensive circuit board design solution while taking the risk out of integration and deployment.

No, Altium NEXUS is focused on managing the design and workflow data as it relates to the PCB design work in progress. This includes the management of PCB library, project, templates, design release, workflow and process configurations, and the revisions, history, and metadata associated to this content. Altium NEXUS manages and centralizes the PCB design information making it easy to publish this content to a PLM system.

Most electronic products are not made by a single designer and require the interaction of multiple individuals. Communication across groups, both engineering and non-design related, is challenging often relying on email, meetings, or ad-hoc systems to track progress and changes. Many companies have adopted business enterprise systems only to realize the cost, overhead, and usability of such environments in the engineering space hinders design progress. This is because these systems were never designed with the engineer in mind and legislate a methodology that does not align with an electronic workflow.  

Altium NEXUS was developed to address current communication and interaction limitations during the PCB design process. It enables collaboration during design authoring and throughout the management of the PCB workflow. Altium NEXUS was architected to not only align with the engineering team, but also all participants that contribute to the PCB design. Processes are configurable, allowing you to conform the workflow to how your company operates, rather than changing your organization's process to match the system. Its focus is on how you design by making it easier to work together. The figure below highlights the suite of Altium products and how they align based on design type and participants.

Altium's products and how they align based on design type and participants.

 

Found an issue with this document? Highlight the area, then use Ctrl+Enter to report it.

Contact Us

Contact our corporate or local offices directly.

You are reporting an issue with the following selected text
and/or image within the active document:
ALTIUM DESIGNER FREE TRIAL
Altium Designer Free Trial
Let’s get started. First off, are you or your organization already using Altium Designer?

If would like to speak with a representative, please contact your local Altium office.
Copyright © Altium Limited

In that case, why do you need an evaluation license?

If would like to speak with a representative, please contact your local Altium office.
Copyright © Altium Limited

Got it. You actually don’t need an evaluation license for that.

Click the button below to download the latest Altium Designer installer.


Download Altium Designer Installer

If would like to speak with a representative, please contact your local Altium office.
Copyright © Altium Limited

Please fill out the form below to get a quote for a new seat of Altium Designer.

By clicking “Get Your Free Trial”, you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy.
You may receive communications from Altium and can change your notification preferences at any time.

If you are on Altium Subscription, you don’t need an evaluation license.

If you are not an active Altium Subscription member, please fill out the form below to get your free trial.

By clicking “Get Your Free Trial”, you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy.
You may receive communications from Altium and can change your notification preferences at any time.

Why are you looking to evaluate Altium Designer?

If would like to speak with a representative, please contact your local Altium office.
Copyright © Altium Limited

You came to the right place! Please fill out the form below to get your free trial started.

By clicking “Get Your Free Trial”, you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy.
You may receive communications from Altium and can change your notification preferences at any time.

Sounds exciting! Did you know we offer special discounted student licenses? For more information, click here.

In the meantime, feel free to request a free trial by filling out the form below.

By clicking “Get Your Free Trial”, you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy.
You may receive communications from Altium and can change your notification preferences at any time.

Got it. You can download a free Altium Designer Viewer license which is valid for a 6 months.

Please fill out the form below to request one.

By clicking “Get Your Free Trial”, you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy.
You may receive communications from Altium and can change your notification preferences at any time.

That’s great! Making things is awesome. We have the perfect program for you.

Upverter is a free community-driven platform designed specifically to meet the needs of makers like you.

Click here to give it a try!

If would like to speak with a representative, please contact your local Altium office.
Copyright © Altium Limited

Got it. You can download a free Altium Designer Viewer license which is valid for a 6 months.

Please fill out the form below to request one.

By clicking “Get Your Free Trial”, you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy.
You may receive communications from Altium and can change your notification preferences at any time.