Altium NEXUS Documentation

General Options for a Project in Altium NEXUS

Created: July 23, 2020 | Updated: July 23, 2020

The two iterations of the General tab of the Project Options dialog; on the left, shown when the project has been made available online, and on the right, when you wish to make a local, un-managed project available in a Workspace.  The two iterations of the General tab of the Project Options dialog; on the left, shown when the project has been made available online, and on the right, when you wish to make a local, un-managed project available in a Workspace. 

Summary

The General tab of the Project Options dialog enables you to control the online availability and synchronization of a regular project that has been made available to an Altium NEXUS Workspace.

This tab of the Project Options dialog is only when signed in to an Altium 365 Standard or Pro account and is not available when signed into a self-managed content server.

Access

This is one of multiple tabs available when configuring the options for a project accessed from within the Project Options dialog. To access this dialog if the project has been made available online:

  • From any editor, select Project » Project Options from the main menu.
  • Right-click within the Schematic or PCB Editor, then select Project Options from the menu.
  • Right-click on the Project entry on the Projects panel then click Project Options from the context menu.

To access this dialog with a local, un-managed project, such as within a Project Group heading (.DsnWrk), right-click on the desired project, and select Project Options. The General tab of the Project Options dialog will open, only containing the option to add the project to the Workspace through the Make Project Available Online dialog. Click the button to be redirected to the dialog, which will add your project to the Workspace after going through the necessary steps. Once completed, all contents within the General tab of the Project Options dialog will be made available.

Options/Controls

General

  • Project Name - the name of the project.
  • Description - use this field to provide an optional description of the project, which will be reflected in the description field when browsing your project within the Workspace browser interface.

Online Availability and Synchronization

  • Enable Format Version Control - checking this box will reflect the current style of online availability. Enable this option to store this project under VCS within the Workspace's Versioned Storage Git design repository, or disable it to partake in simple synchronization. Enabling format version control allows multiple users to work on this project, given that it will be shared with all other contributors connected to your Altium NEXUS Workspace. 
  • Server Folder - the folder in which the project resides.
  • Turn Off Synchronization - click this button to turn off synchronization, which ensures that the local project copy will no longer be linked to the one that resides on the server. The project located on the server will remain untouched, however.

Additional Controls

  • Set To Installation Defaults - click to set all options to the installation defaults.
Note that if you are making a local project available online again after having turned off synchronization, you may need to change the project name. Since turning off synchronization does not remove the project in the Workspace, this project, with the same name and folder location, may still exist. If you need to have the same project name, then the previous project instance in the Workspace can always be removed.
Found an issue with this document? Highlight the area, then use Ctrl+Enter to report it.

Contact Us

Contact our corporate or local offices directly.

We're sorry to hear the article wasn't helpful to you.
Could you take a moment to tell us why?
200 characters remaining
You are reporting an issue with the following selected text
and/or image within the active document: