Altium Designer Documentation

Setting Global Operation Permissions for a Workspace from Altium Designer

Created: August 10, 2021 | Updated: September 15, 2021
All Contents

Parent page: Workspace Configuration

The connected Workspace used to store your design content facilitates the definition and management of global operation permissions for the Workspace. Accessible by Workspace Administrators only, permissions across the spectrum of day-to-day global-level Workspace operations can be set up for all Workspace users in one convenient location. So while Administrators continue to enjoy full permissions for all types of operation, they can quickly configure permissions for collaborators, owners, specific roles, and specific users.

When connected to an Altium 365 Workspace, note that the ability to set global Workspace operation permissions is not supported with the Standard Subscription Plan. As such, this functionality will not be available with this level of access to Altium 365.
This feature relates to global-level Workspace operations only. It complements but does not control access permissions at the folder, Item, and Item Revision levels. For more information on these areas of permissions, see Controlling Access to Workspace Content.

Access

Permissions are defined and managed from within Altium Designer, using the Edit Operation Permissions dialog. Access to this dialog is made from the Data Management – Servers page of the Preferences dialog. For the active Workspace whose permissions you wish to browse/modify, click the Properties control at the right-hand side, and choose the Operations command from the associated menu.

The Operations command is also available from the Workspace listing's right-click Properties menu.

Setup global operating permissions for your connected Workspace through the Edit Operation Permissions dialog – accessed as part of your Altium Designer preferences. Shown here is opening the dialog for a connected Altium 365 Workspace. Hover the cursor over the image to see opening the dialog for a connected Concord Pro Workspace.Setup global operating permissions for your connected Workspace through the Edit Operation Permissions dialog – accessed as part of your Altium Designer preferences. Shown here is opening the dialog for a connected Altium 365 Workspace. Hover the cursor over the image to see opening the dialog for a connected Concord Pro Workspace.

Default Settings

Permissions for Workspace operations can be assigned to the following entities (where applicable):

  •   Administrators (itself a defined role).
  •   Collaborator (this is a user who has edit rights for an Item/Revision).
  •   Owner (for released data, this is the person who created the initial Item).
  •   Specific user-defined Role.
  •   Specific User.
Management of users, as well as defined Roles (groupings of users), is performed using the Workspace's browser-based interface. This can be done from an external browser. For detailed information, see Managing Membership of Your Altium 365 Workspace or Adding Users & Roles to Altium Concord Pro.
When connected to an Altium 365 Workspace, note that creation and definition of roles is not supported with the Standard Subscription Plan. As such, this functionality will not be available with this level of access to Altium 365.

The following are the default permission settings for the various Workspace operations:

  • Top Level Folder Creation – Administrators
  • Move revision between lifecycle states – Administrators, Collaborator, Librarians, Managers
  • Component Types – this area is broken down into the following sub-operations:
    • Add – Administrators
    • Edit – Administrators
    • Delete – Administrators
  • Lifecycle definitions – this area is broken down into the following sub-operations:
    • Add – Administrators
    • Edit – Administrators
    • Delete – Administrators
  • Delete Released – this area is broken down into the following sub-operations:
    • Delete revisions – Administrators, Managers
    • Delete items – Administrators, Managers
  • Revision naming schemes – this area is broken down into the following sub-operations:
    • Add – Administrators
    • Edit – Administrators
    • Delete – Administrators
  • Release – this area is broken down into the following sub-operations, reflective of the various Item types that can be released:
    • Component – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Footprint – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Symbol – Administrators, Collaborator
    • PCB Fabrication Data – Administrators, Collaborator
    • PCB Assembly Data – Administrators, Collaborator
    • PCB Project Design – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Schematic Template – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Managed Schematic Sheet – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Outputjob – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Simulation Model – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Altium Designer Preferences – Administrators, Collaborator
    • 3D Model – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Binary File – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Component Template – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Draftsman Sheet Template – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Layerstack – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Project Template – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Script – Administrators, Collaborator
    • BOM Template – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Draftsman Document Template – Administrators, Collaborator

Managing Operational Permissions

To add a new entity (assign permissions) for a particular Workspace operation:

  1. Select the operation in the left-hand region of the dialog.
  2. Click the Add button, and choose the required entity from the associated menu.
When adding a specific user (Add User) or role (Add Role), use the relevant dialog – Search for Users or Search for Role – to search for the required entity from all those currently defined for the Workspace. A user will be listed in terms of their UserName and Email (if defined). If the user added is actually you (by virtue of being signed into the Workspace), the suffix '- You' will be added.

To remove an entity (remove permissions) for a particular Workspace operation:

  1. Select the operation in the left-hand region of the dialog.
  2. Select the entity in the right-hand region of the dialog.
  3. Click the Remove button.
The Administrators role cannot be removed from any operation – Administrators always have full access rights and permissions.
Add and Remove controls can also be found on the right-click context menus for both regions of the dialog.

Example permissions defined for the operation involving release into a PCB Assembly Data Item.Example permissions defined for the operation involving release into a PCB Assembly Data Item.

Note that while permission lists are dynamically updated as you add and/or remove entities, changes made will not take effect until the Apply or OK buttons are clicked. If you click Cancel, all changes made since entering the dialog will be lost.
Found an issue with this document? Highlight the area, then use Ctrl+Enter to report it.

お問合せ

お近くの営業所にお問合せください。

We're sorry to hear the article wasn't helpful to you.
Could you take a moment to tell us why?
200 characters remaining
You are reporting an issue with the following selected text
and/or image within the active document: