Installation of any software application should be straightforward, intuitive and, perhaps above all, fast. Furthermore, when you have that software installed, you want to be able to update it as and when you deem necessary, and in a streamlined fashion.
The Altium Vault is installed through use of an efficient, intuitive installer - an installer that not only expedites the initial installation process, but lets you update with ease to a later version, at any time in the future. In addition, tools are available to monitor the health of your vault, and to back-up and restore your valuable design data.
Related page: Installing the Altium Vault
Installation of the Altium Vault is performed using the Altium Vault Setup wizard. This is accessed by running an executable -
Altium Vault <VersionNumber>.exe . This executable is downloaded from the Downloads page of the Altium website, and can be saved anywhere on your hard disk.
Related page: Altium Vault Licensing
Licensing for the Altium Vault essentially consists of the following two components, that together comprise a two-tiered licensing system:
Licensing for the Altium Vault can be handled through the cloud, or locally through license files (*.alf).
When you want to upgrade to a later version of the Altium Vault, the Altium Vault Setup Wizard can handle this automatically for you. Simply run the installer for the later version. The older version will be detected, and you will be asked if you wish to upgrade to the later version - click Yes. As part of the installation process, the Installer will make a backup of the current vault data, using the Backup & Restore tool. The default backup folder is \ProgramData\Altium\VaultServerData, but can be changed as required. The backup data is stored in a file with the format AltiumVault<Version>_backup.zip.
Uninstalling the Altium Vault is performed from the standard Programs and Features page (accessed from the Control panel in Windows 7 and above). Simply right-click on the entry for the
Altium Vault <VersionNumber> and use the Uninstall command from the context menu. A couple of dialogs will appear, in turn, asking:
A final confirmation dialog will appear once the uninstall is complete.