Altium Designer Documentation

Defining New Document Default Preferences for Altium Designer

Created: October 27, 2018 | Updated: August 8, 2019
All Contents

Parent page: System Preferences

The System - New Document Defaults page of the Preferences dialog The System - New Document Defaults page of the Preferences dialog

Summary

The System – New Document Defaults page of the Preferences dialog allows you to specify the defaults used when new projects and documents are created. You can load file or server sourced templates for all types of Altium Designer documents. The Preferences can be saved and loaded at will, and importantly, released to a managed content server as Managed Preferences for reuse by others.

Preferences released to a managed content server are version-controlled and lifecycle managed by the server infrastructure and can be manually loaded into Altium Designer.

Access

This page is accessed by clicking New Document Defaults under the System folder in the main Preferences dialog (accessed by clicking the button in the top right corner of the workspace).

Options/Controls

  • Document Kind - lists all the document/file types.
When a new project or document of a given kind is created, the associated default and its settings are copied.
  • New documents default - click the right hand side of the column then  to open a drop-down in which you can select how to define the default document:
    • From File - click to browse and select the desired file.
    • From Server - click to open the Choose item dialog in which a suitable Managed Template can be selected or the target Item for a new template created.
Once the template is selected, a new template entry will appear for the selected document default in the Preferences dialog (shown as a path to the server Item). Close the Preferences dialog to save the new template entry.
When using a template from a managed content server, the template Item Revision cannot be used directly. You must upload the required template file into a revision of a Binary File Item, and then choose that revision for use as the New document default. For more information, see Reusing a Binary File Item with New Document Defaults.
  • Reset to Default - click to reset to the default settings.
If you have a company template, you can specify the directory for the template in the textbox in the New documents default column. 
The New Document Defaults settings can be released to a target Item in a server via the Send to server option in the Preferences dialog’s Save drop-down menu. 
Found an issue with this document? Highlight the area, then use Ctrl+Enter to report it.

联系我们

联系原厂或当地办公室

We're sorry to hear the article wasn't helpful to you.
Could you take a moment to tell us why?
200 characters remaining
You are reporting an issue with the following selected text
and/or image within the active document: