熟悉Altium设计环境

Altium Designer 提供了一个完整的电子产品开发环境,涵盖了电子开发过程的所有方面,包括前端设计和捕获、混合信号电路仿真、物理 PCB 设计等。

本页面讨论了使用 Altium Designer 的基本工作技巧,以便您可以快速开始下一个产品设计。

主要 UI 元素

Altium Designer 使用与其他 Windows 应用程序和 CAD 工具相同的 UI 元素。下面显示并随后描述了这些主要元素。

设计空间
面板
主菜单
活动栏
快速访问栏
Javascript

设计空间 – 应用程序窗口的主要区域,显示活动文档。在设计空间中,您可以探索文档的内容(例如,如上图所示的原理图文档)并对其进行操作。

面板 – 提供对与活动项目或文档相关的不同功能和功能的访问。可以从设计空间右下角面板按钮的菜单中访问面板。

主菜单 – 提供访问与当前文档类型相关的命令。可用的菜单和命令集取决于当前活动文档的类型。

活动栏 – 始终显示在当前文档设计空间的顶部,活动栏提供了方便地访问最常用的命令,例如放置和选择对象的命令。

快速访问栏 – 提供访问高级操作的功能,例如保存文档和撤销/重做操作。

了解更多关于 Altium Designer 环境的这些和其他元素:环境的元素

登录您的Altium账户

为了访问Altium的按需服务,例如按需许可和连接到Altium 365工作区,您必须从Altium Designer中登录到您的Altium账户。当您未登录到您的Altium账户时,设计空间右上角的当前用户控件显示为。要登录,请点击控件并在关联菜单上选择登录项。使用随后出现的登录对话框输入您的Altium账户凭据,然后点击登录按钮。控件将更改为您的Altium个人资料图片(例如,)。

了解更多关于登录选项: 登录您的Altium账户

连接到您的Altium 365工作区

登录到您的Altium账户后,您可以连接到可用的Altium 365工作区以访问其功能和数据。要这样做,请点击设计空间右上角的活动工作区控件(当您未连接到工作区时,控件显示为)。在随后的菜单中,点击您希望连接到的Altium 365工作区的条目。控件将更改为反映已连接工作区的名称(例如,)。

了解更多关于连接选项: 访问您的工作区

设置环境

首选项对话框是一个中心位置,您可以在其中设置跨Altium Designer不同功能区域的全局系统设置。要访问首选项对话框,请点击设计空间右上角的图标。

在对话框左侧点击一个页面条目以在对话框右侧显示其选项。为了方便,页面被归类到功能区域的类别中(系统数据管理原理图等)。

了解更多关于Altium Designer首选项: 访问、定义和管理系统首选项

处理设计项目和文档

在Altium Designer中创建的每个设计的起点都是一个项目。Altium Designer项目是一组设计文档,其输出定义了特定的实现。除了存储项目中每个文档的链接,项目文件还存储特定于项目的选项,例如错误检查设置。

Altium Designer支持PCB、多板和线束类型的设计项目。以下是每种类型的简要描述。

大多数项目管理操作(创建、打开等)都是使用文件主菜单和项目面板执行的。

 
 
 
 
 
Javascript

要创建一个新的设计项目,请从主菜单中选择文件 » 新建 » 项目命令。在打开的创建项目对话框中,选择您想要创建项目的位置、项目类型以及其他选项,如项目名称、存储文件夹等。点击创建按钮后,新项目的条目将出现在项目面板中。

所有与项目相关的数据都存储在文档中,这些文档也被称为文件。要向项目中添加新文档,右键点击项目面板中的项目条目,然后在添加新项目到项目菜单中选择所需的文档类型。

请注意,新创建的文档最初是未保存的。使用文档条目在项目面板中的右键菜单来保存它。同样,当项目发生变化时(例如,通过添加新文档改变其结构时),使用项目条目在项目面板中的右键菜单来保存项目。

要打开现有项目,请使用主菜单中的文件 » 打开项目命令和随后的打开项目对话框。打开的项目的结构将出现在项目面板中。

双击面板中的文档条目,以在设计空间中打开该文档。

 

 

 

项目面板中,项目和文档条目旁边的图标提供了它们的打开/修改状态和版本控制状态的视觉总结。

当你处理一个“图形”类型的文档(例如,原理图或PCB文档)时,你可以缩放和平移文档以聚焦于特定的文档区域。可以使用的基本快捷方式有:

  • Ctrl+鼠标滚轮中键点击,按住&拖动 来放大和缩小
  • 右键点击,按住&拖动鼠标滚轮Shift+鼠标滚轮 来滑动文档

下面的视频演示了这些快捷方式的使用。

要了解更多关于项目和文档的操作,请参考以下页面:

处理设计对象

无论是原理图、PCB还是图纸,创建文档本质上是放置对象并设置其属性。下面列出了大多数Altium Designer编辑器通用的主要放置和编辑技术。

  1. 要放置一个对象,请从主菜单或活动栏中选择相应的放置命令。例如,要在原理图中放置一条线,请从主菜单中选择放置 » 线命令,或点击活动栏中的图标。
  2. 选择放置命令后,你将进入放置模式,光标下方会出现十字线。将光标定位在设计空间中,然后左键点击以放置对象。对于复杂的对象,如线或多边形,你必须继续定位和点击程序以放置对象的所有顶点。
  3. 在放置模式中,按Tab键打开属性面板以编辑对象的属性,然后再放置对象。设置完属性后,点击设计空间中的 按钮返回到放置模式。
  4. 要结束放置模式,请右键点击。
  5. 要编辑已放置对象的属性,请在设计空间中点击它以选中。它的属性将显示在属性面板中。如果面板没有打开,双击对象即可选中并打开面板。

下面的视频演示了对象放置过程和编辑其属性。

获取帮助

Altium Designer 提供了多种方式帮助您查找更多信息和帮助。

  • 在任何对象、编辑器、面板、菜单条目或按钮上按F1键,可以打开该项的文档。
  • 在执行命令时按Shift+F1键,可以查看在该命令中可以使用的快捷键列表。
  • 使用文档左侧的导航树阅读有关特定主题的信息( 显示图片)。

可用的功能取决于您的 Altium Designer 软件订阅级别

Content

Altium Designer Documentation

Getting Familiar with the Altium Design Environment

Created: December 25, 2023 | Updated: January 17, 2024
Applies to Altium Designer version: 24

Altium Designer brings a complete electronic product development environment, catering for all aspects of the electronic development process, including front-end design and capture, mixed-signal circuit simulation, physical PCB design, etc.

This page discusses basic working techniques with Altium Designer so you can quickly start your next product design.

Main UI Elements

Altium Designer uses UI elements common to other Windows applications and CAD tools. The main of those are shown below and described afterward.

Javascript

Design space – the main region of the application window where the active document is shown. In the design space, you can explore the document's content (e.g., a schematic document, as shown in the above image) and work with it.

Panels – provide access to different features and functionalities related to the active project or document. Panels can be accessed from the menu of the Panels button at the bottom right of the design space.

Main menus – provide you with access to commands for working with the current document type. The set of available menus and commands depends on the type of the currently active document.

Active Bar – always shown at the top of the design space of the current document, the Active Bar provides handy access to the most commonly used commands, such as commands for placing and selecting objects.

Quick Access Bar – provides you with access to high-level operations, such as saving documents and undoing/redoing actions.

Learn more about these and other elements of the Altium Designer environment: Elements of the Environment.

Signing in to Your Altium Account

In order to access Altium on-demand services, such as On-Demand licensing and connection to an Altium 365 Workspace, you must be signed in to your Altium account from Altium Designer. When you are not signed in to your Altium account, the Current User control at the top-right of the design space is presented as . To sign in, click the control and select the Sign In entry on the associated menu. Use the subsequent Sign In dialog that appears to enter your Altium account credentials, then click the Sign in button. The control will change to your Altium profile picture (e.g., ).

Learn more about available signing in options: Signing in to Your Altium Account.

Connecting to Your Altium 365 Workspace

When signed in to your Altium account, you can connect to an available Altium 365 Workspace to access its features and data. To do so, click on the Active Workspace Control at the top-right of the design space (when you are not connected to a Workspace, the control is presented as ). In the subsequent menu, click the entry for the Altium 365 Workspace you wish to connect to. The control will change to reflect the name of the connected Workspace (e.g., ).

Learn more about available connection options: Accessing Your Workspace.

Setting Up the Environment

The Preferences dialog is a central location in which you can set up global system settings across different functional areas of Altium Designer. To access the Preferences dialog, click the  icon at the top-right of the design space.

Click a page entry on the left-hand side of the dialog to show its options on the right-hand side of the dialog. For convenience, pages are clustered into categories for function areas (System, Data Management, Schematic, etc.).

Learn more about Altium Designer preferences: Accessing, Defining & Managing System Preferences.

Working with Design Projects and Documents

The starting point for every design created in Altium Designer is a project. An Altium Designer project is a set of design documents whose output defines a specific implementation. As well as storing links to each document in the project, the project file also stores project-specific options, such as error check settings.

Altium Designer supports the PCB, Multi-board and Harness types of design projects. Below is a brief description of each.

In a Printed Circuit Board (PCB) project, the electronic circuit is captured as a schematic, which is built up from libraries of component symbols that are placed and wired together.

The design is then transferred to the PCB editor where each component is instantiated as a footprint (pattern) and the circuit wiring becomes point-to-point connection lines. A shape for the final PCB is defined, along with the physical layers the board will include. Design rules specify the layout requirements, such as routing widths and clearance. The components are positioned within the board shape, and the connection lines are then replaced by routing.

When the design is complete, standard format output files are generated which can be used to fabricate the blank board, configure an assembly machine, and so on.

In a Multi-board project, the logical design is captured using a schematic document that connects together sub-project modules, which in turn represent existing PCB projects. The Multi-board schematic data is then transferred to a Multi-board assembly document where the physical board assemblies, as defined by the sub-projects, are positioned together and within an added enclosure.

A Multi-board project (*.PrjMbd) effectively defines the electrical and physical connectivity between existing PCB design projects through the application of a logical schematic document (*.MbsDoc) and synchronized assembly document (*.MbaDoc).

Note that Multi-board design functionality is not supported with the Altium Designer Standard Subscription.

The Harness Design functionality allows engineers of various types (involved in the Product Design process) to work in Altium Designer. It brings comprehensive harness design support into the same environment as PCB and system design, removing the previous heavy reliance on third-party software.

The Harness Design functionality allows you to create a full wiring harness design, from the individual pin-to-pin connections right through to manufacturing documentation. A harness design can be created as a standalone project, or as part of a Multi-board project. In the latter case, the logical connections between PCBs in the Multi-board project are used to define the connectivity within the harness.

Note that Harness Design functionality is not supported with the Altium Designer Standard Subscription.
Learn more about Harness Design.

The most of project management operations (creating, opening, etc.) are performed using the File main menu and the Projects panel.

Javascript

To create a new design project, select the File » New » Project command from the main menus. In the Create Project dialog that opens, select the location where you want to create the project, the type of the project, and other options such as project name, storage folder, etc. After clicking the Create button, the entry of the new project will appear in the Projects panel.

All project-related data is stored in documents, which are also referred to as files. To add a new document to a project, right-click the project's entry in the Projects panel and select a required document type in the Add New to Project menu.

Note that a newly created document is initially unsaved. Use the right-click menu of the document's entry in the Projects panel to save it. Similarly, use right-click menu of the project's entry in the Projects panel to save it when the project is changed (e.g., when its structure is changed by adding a new document).

To open an existing project, use the File » Open Project command from the main menus and the subsequent Open Project dialog. The structure of the opened project will appear in the Projects panel.

Double-click a document entry in the panel to open this document in the design space.

The icons next to the project and document entries in the Projects panel provide a visual summary of their open/modified and version control status.

When working with a document of a "graphical" type (e.g., a schematic sheet or PCB document), you can zoom and pan the document to focus on a specific document area. The basic shortcuts that can be used to do this are:

  • Ctrl+Mouse Wheel or Middle-Click, Hold&Drag to zoom in and out
  • Right-Click, Hold&Drag or Mouse Wheel or Shift+Mouse Wheel to slide the document around

The video below demonstrates use of these shortcuts.

To learn more about working with projects and documents, refer to the following pages:

Working with Design Objects

Creation of a document, be it a schematic sheet, PCB, or drawing, is essentially placing objects in the required arrangement and setting their properties. The main placement and editing techniques common for most Altium Designer editors are listed below.

  1. To place an object, select the corresponding placement command from the main menus or the Active Bar. For example, to place a wire in a schematic sheet, select the Place » Wire command from the main menus or click the  icon in the Active Bar.
  2. After selecting a placement command, you will enter the placement mode indicated by a crosshair under the cursor. Position the cursor in the design space, then left-click to place the object. For complex objects, such as wires or polygons, you must continue the position-and-click procedure to place all vertices of the object.
  3. When in placement mode, press Tab to open to edit the object's properties in the Properties panel that opens, before placing the object. Once you have finished setting the properties, click the  button in the design space to return to placement mode. 
  4. To end placement mode, right-click.
  5. To edit the properties of a placed object, select it by clicking on it in the design space. Its properties will be shown in the Properties panel. If the panel is not open, double-click the object to select it and open the panel.

The video below demonstrates the object placement process and editing its properties.

Getting Help

Altium Designer provides various ways for you to locate additional information and help. 

  • Press F1 over any object, editor, panel, menu entry, or button to open the documentation for that item.
  • Press Shift+F1 while running a command for a list of shortcuts you can use in that command.
  • Use the navigation tree on the left side of the documentation to read about a particular subject ( show image).

Found an issue with this document? Highlight the area, then use Ctrl+Enter to report it.

Contact Us

Contact our corporate or local offices directly.

We're sorry to hear the article wasn't helpful to you.
Could you take a moment to tell us why?
200 characters remaining
You are reporting an issue with the following selected text
and/or image within the active document: