Altium Designer Documentation

Edit Operation Permissions

Created: January 18, 2022 | Updated: April 14, 2022
All Contents

The Edit Operation Permissions dialog
The Edit Operation Permissions dialog

Summary

The Edit Operation Permissions dialog is used to change permissions for various operations in a Workspace.

Access

The dialog is accessed by choosing Operations from the Properties drop-down menu in the Servers region on the Data Management – Servers Preferences page.

The Properties menu also is available from the right-click menu in the Servers region of the Data Management – Servers Preferences page.
When connected to an Altium 365 Workspace, note that the ability to set global Workspace operation permissions is not supported with the Standard Subscription Plan. As such, the Edit Operation Permissions dialog will not be available with this level of access to Altium 365.

Options/Controls

Vault Operations

This region lists the various Workspace operations for which you can assign permissions. The following are the default permission settings for the various Workspace operations in a newly-activated/installed Workspace:

  • Top Level Folder Creation – Administrators
  • Move revision between lifecycle states – Administrators, Collaborator, Librarians, Managers
  • Task management – Administrators
  • Component Types – this area is broken down into the following sub-operations:
    • Add – Administrators
    • Edit – Administrators
    • Delete – Administrators
  • Lifecycle definitions – this area is broken down into the following sub-operations:
    • Add – Administrators
    • Edit – Administrators
    • Delete – Administrators
  • Delete Released – this area is broken down into the following sub-operations:
    • Delete revisions – Administrators, Managers
    • Delete items – Administrators, Managers
  • Revision naming schemes – this area is broken down into the following sub-operations:
    • Add – Administrators
    • Edit – Administrators
    • Delete – Administrators
  • Release – this area is broken down into the following sub-operations, reflective of the various content types that can be released:
    • Component – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Footprint – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Symbol – Administrators, Collaborator
    • PCB Fabrication Data – Administrators, Collaborator
    • PCB Assembly Data – Administrators, Collaborator
    • PCB Project Design – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Schematic Template – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Managed Schematic Sheet – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Outputjob – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Simulation Model – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Altium Designer Preferences – Administrators, Collaborator

    • 3D Model – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Binary File – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Reuse Block – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Component Template – Administrators, Collaborator
    • PCB Snippet – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Draftsman Sheet Template – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Layerstack – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Project Template – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Script – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Schematic Snippet – Administrators, Collaborator
    • BOM Template – Administrators, Collaborator
    • Draftsman Document Template – Administrators, Collaborator

ID

This region is a list of the various permissions you have authorized. As you add, edit, or remove roles, users, etc., this region is updated automatically for the operation selected.

  • Add – click to access a drop-down to select:
    • Add Owner – click to add an owner, i.e. the person who created the initial Item.
    • Add Collaborator – click to add a collaborator, i.e. a user who has edit rights for an Item/Revision.
    • Add Role – opens the Search For Role dialog in which you can search for and add a role.
    • Add User – opens Search For Users dialog to search for and add a user.
    • Remove – click to remove the currently selected permission. A confirmation dialog appears before the removal occurs.
  • Remove – click to remove the selected permission. A confirmation dialog appears before the removal occurs.
The above options also are accessible from the right-click menu of both regions.
Found an issue with this document? Highlight the area, then use Ctrl+Enter to report it.

Contact Us

Contact our corporate or local offices directly.

We're sorry to hear the article wasn't helpful to you.
Could you take a moment to tell us why?
200 characters remaining
You are reporting an issue with the following selected text
and/or image within the active document: