Mirroring a Project in the Workspace Using Simple Sync
The recommended and most powerful method to work with projects is to create a new project directly within the connected Workspace or make an existing project available in the Workspace while opting to enable the Workspace's version control. In this case, the project will be stored and managed through the Workspace’s native Version Control System (VCS).
However, a new project or an existing project that is not under version control or is under external version control can also be registered with your Workspace using a methodology called Simple Sync. In this case, a mirror of your project is created in the Workspace and synchronized. The strength of Simple Sync comes when you do want to take advantage of Altium 365's Global Sharing paradigm and be able to share that design with multiple other people for viewing and commenting while keeping your original project right where it is. However, bear in mind that for a local design project (not under external VCS), that project can be edited by a single person only (the owner of that project – the one who created it or made it available to the Workspace).
Mirroring a Project
To mirror a project in the connected Altium 365 Workspace using the Simple Sync arrangement, use the following approaches:
-
When creating a new project – disable the Version Control option in the Create Project dialog. When the project is created, its entry will be shown in the Projects panel with the
icon only. Saved local files are automatically synchronized with their mirrored project counterparts in the Workspace.
-
When making an existing project that is not under external version control available in the Workspace – disable the Version Control option in the Make Available Online dialog. When the project is made available in the Workspace, its entry will be shown in the Projects panel with the
icon only. Saved local files are automatically synchronized with their mirrored project counterparts in the Workspace.
-
When making an existing project that is under external version control available in the Workspace – disable the Migrate to Altium 365 Versioned Storage option in the Make Available Online dialog. When the project is made available in the Workspace, its entry will be shown in the Projects panel with the
icon, along with the
icons associated with the project and its documents reflecting the fully synchronized state that exists between the external design repository and the local working copy. Once local file changes are saved and committed/pushed to the external design repository, those changes are automatically synchronized with their mirrored project counterparts in the Workspace.
Simple Sync States
Where a project is stored in an Altium 365 Workspace using the Simple Sync approach, the current state of the synchronization between local and Workspace-side projects is presented in the Projects panel through a range of icons. The icons, and their meaning, are as follows:


