Altium Designer Documentation

ClearTargetItems

Created: April 11, 2019 | Updated: April 11, 2019

Parent page: UnifiedComponent Commands

The following pre-packaged resource, derived from this base command, is available:


Applied Parameters: None

Summary

This command is used to clear the existing link between one or more selected component definitions in the active Component Library document and their corresponding Component Items in a target server. The need to sever the links might arise if you need to release again to a new set of Items. For example, if you have previously released but then deleted the items from the server, the source library will still have defined links (although invalid as the server items would no longer be found). Similarly, if you need to release the source library to a different target server.

Access

This command can be accessed from the Component Library Editor when configured in Batch Editor mode by:

  • Selecting a single component definition (in the main grid region) and choosing the Edit » Operations » Clear Link To Target Item command from the main menus.
  • Right-clicking over a component definition (in the main grid region), and choosing the Operations » Clear Link To Target Item command from the context menu.
  • Selecting multiple component definitions (in the main grid region) and choosing the Edit » Operations » Clear Links To Target Items command from the main menus.
  • Right-clicking over a component definition (in a group of selected definitions in the main grid region), and choosing the Operations » Clear Links To Target Items command from the context menu.
If the Component Library Editor is currently in Single Component Editor mode, switch to the Batch Editor mode using the Tools » Switch to Batch Editor command.

Use

After launching the command, the link to the applicable target Component Item for each selected component definition will be cleared.

Be sure to save the Component Library document now that the link information has been stripped away.

Tips

  1. If you have already released a component definition, this procedure will effectively cause that definition and its previously linked Component Item to lose knowledge of each other.
  2. Once the link to an existing Component Item in the target server is cleared, the Item ID for the component definition will become editable. The entry in the Action field in the Release region of the grid will change to Create Item reflecting that the component definition is currently not linked to an Item in the target server.

 

Found an issue with this document? Highlight the area, then use Ctrl+Enter to report it.

Contact Us

Contact our corporate or local offices directly.

We're sorry to hear the article wasn't helpful to you.
Could you take a moment to tell us why?
200 characters remaining
You are reporting an issue with the following selected text
and/or image within the active document: