Altium Designer Documentation

Connection

Created: August 8, 2020 | Updated: July 16, 2021

The Connection dialog is used to connect and sign in to a workspace.The Connection dialog is used to connect and sign in to a workspace.

Summary

The Connection dialog provides controls to connect to and sign in to a target workspace or server. A target workspace can be used to store everything related to designing in the software including: design source data, such as components, schematics, and PCB files; design release data, such as Gerber and ODB++ data; and installations and updates of the software itself. You can only sign in to a target workspace or server that has already been installed or activated and has appropriate user credentials defined.

For more information about accessing a target workspace, click here.

Access

This dialog is accessed by attempting to run the following workspace-related actions when not connected to a workspace:

  • Clicking File » New » Component from the main menus of any editor.
  • Right-clicking on a project in the Projects panel and selecting Version Control » Commit Whole Project.
  • Releasing a project from the Project releaser (Project » Project Releaser).

Options/Controls

  • When not signed in to a workspace: the Connection dialog displays text to connect to one of your workspaces. Click the relevant tile for the desired workspace , self-managed server , or customized server . You will be prompted to sign into the chosen server, if required.
Found an issue with this document? Highlight the area, then use Ctrl+Enter to report it.

Contact Us

Contact our corporate or local offices directly.

We're sorry to hear the article wasn't helpful to you.
Could you take a moment to tell us why?
200 characters remaining
You are reporting an issue with the following selected text
and/or image within the active document: