Altium Designer Documentation

FileLessReleaseToVault

Created: April 14, 2020 | Updated: April 14, 2020

Parent page: WorkspaceManager Commands

The following pre-packaged resources, derived from this base command, are available:


Applied Parameters: None

Summary

This command is used to release the current document being edited - through a direct editing session of the active managed content server Item - storing it as the next revision of that Item, closing the temporary editor, and destroying the temporary file.

Direct editing frees you of the shackles of separate version-controlled source data. You can simply edit a supported Item type using a temporary editor loaded with the latest source direct from the server itself. And once editing is complete, the entity is re-released into a subsequent planned revision of its parent Item, and the temporary editor closed. There are no files on your hard drive, no questioning whether you are working with the correct or latest source, and no having to maintain separate version control software. The managed content server handles it all, with the highest integrity, and in a manner that greatly expedites changes to your data.

While you can still create source files under your control, the freedom offered through direct editing takes this variable out of the equation, so-to-speak. The managed content server becomes both source and target for design data, allowing you to access and edit the secure (and latest!) source, without the headache of managing two sets of data

Access

This command can be accessed by:

  • Clicking the  button, on the Standard toolbar of the temporary editor (associated with the document currently being edited).
  • Right-clicking over the entry for the document - in the <SourceServerName> folder on the Projects panel - and choosing the Save to Server command from the context menu.
  • Using the Ctrl+Alt+S keyboard shortcut.
The command is only available provided the temporary file is open in a direct editing session.

Use

After launching the command, the Create or Edit Revision (When Releasing) dialog will appear. The dialog allows you to add release notes and modify the name and description for the next revision of the item that is being released to the server. If desired, revisions of parent items related to (referencing) the current revision of the item being released can be updated also.

Updating Components when Re-Releasing a Model Item

When you make a change to a managed domain model - be it a symbol, footprint model, or simulation model - the moment you release that change into a new revision of the model's Item, any Component Item revisions that use that model will become effectively out of date, still using the previous revision. In most cases, you will no doubt want to re-release those components, with the respective model links updated to use the latest revisions available. To streamline this process, a managed content server, in conjunction with Altium Designer, facilitates the ability to update related Component Item revisions - at the point of re-releasing a model Item - after having made any modifications to that model through the direct editing feature.

Tips

  1. With the applicable temporary file used for a direct editing session, you do not have to complete the updating process in a single editing session - you can save your work and close the file if you wish. Altium Designer understands that this is a special file, so it retains it in the <SourceServerName> folder in the Projects panel, so that you can re-open it when you are ready, and complete the updating and re-releasing process.


Applied Parameters: Context=Project

Summary

This command is used to release the current project template being edited - through a direct editing session of the active managed content server Item - storing it as the next revision of that Item, closing the project and any temporary editors, and destroying any temporary files.

Direct editing frees you of the shackles of separate version-controlled source data. You can simply edit a supported Item type using a temporary editor loaded with the latest source direct from the server itself. And once editing is complete, the entity is re-released into a subsequent planned revision of its parent Item, and the temporary editor closed. There are no files on your hard drive, no questioning whether you are working with the correct or latest source, and no having to maintain separate version control software. The managed content server handles it all, with the highest integrity, and in a manner that greatly expedites changes to your data.

While you can still create source files under your control, the freedom offered through direct editing takes this variable out of the equation, so-to-speak. The managed content server becomes both source and target for design data, allowing you to access and edit the secure (and latest!) source, without the headache of managing two sets of data.

Access

This command can be accessed by:

  • Right-clicking over the entry for the project template - in the Projects panel - and choosing the Save to Server command from the context menu.
  • Select File » Save to Server from the main menu.
  • Using the Ctrl+Alt+S keyboard shortcut.
The command is only available provided the project template is open in a direct editing session.

Use

After launching the command, the Create or Edit Revision (When Releasing) dialog will appear. The dialog allows you to add release notes and modify the name and description for the next revision of the item that is being released to the server. If desired, revisions of parent items related to (referencing) the current revision of the item being released can be updated also.

 

Found an issue with this document? Highlight the area, then use Ctrl+Enter to report it.

Contact Us

Contact our corporate or local offices directly.

We're sorry to hear the article wasn't helpful to you.
Could you take a moment to tell us why?
200 characters remaining
You are reporting an issue with the following selected text
and/or image within the active document: