Altium Designer Documentation

FileLessReleaseToVault

Created: March 6, 2019 | Updated: March 6, 2019

Parent page: WorkspaceManager Commands

The following pre-packaged resources, derived from this base command, are available:


Applied Parameters: None

Summary

This command is used to release the current document being edited - through a direct editing session of the active managed content server Item - storing it as the next revision of that Item, closing the temporary editor, and destroying the temporary file.

Direct editing frees you of the shackles of separate version-controlled source data. You can simply edit a supported Item type using a temporary editor loaded with the latest source direct from the server itself. And once editing is complete, the entity is re-released into a subsequent planned revision of its parent Item, and the temporary editor closed. There are no files on your hard drive, no questioning whether you are working with the correct or latest source, and no having to maintain separate version control software. The managed content server handles it all, with the highest integrity, and in a manner that greatly expedites changes to your data.

While you can still create source files under your control, the freedom offered through direct editing takes this variable out of the equation, so-to-speak. The managed content server becomes both source and target for design data, allowing you to access and edit the secure (and latest!) source, without the headache of managing two sets of data

Access

This command can be accessed by:

  • Clicking the  button, on the Standard toolbar of the temporary editor (associated with the document currently being edited).
  • Right-clicking over the entry for the document - in the <SourceServerName> folder on the Projects panel - and choosing the Release to Server command from the context menu.
  • Using the Ctrl+Alt+S keyboard shortcut.
The command is only available provided the temporary file is open in a direct editing session.

Use

After launching the command, the Create Revision dialog will appear. The dialog reflects the next revision of the linked target Item, that the document will be released into. The Comment and Description can be changed if necessary, but more importantly, use the Release Notes section to add any notes on what has been changed. After clicking OK in the dialog, the document will be released into the indicated revision of the target Item, and the temporary editor will be closed. The temporary file (used purely to facilitate the editing) will be deleted, with its entry removed from the Projects panel.

Updating Components when Re-Releasing a Model Item

When releasing a symbol, PCB 2D/3D Component model, or simulation model, the Create Revision dialog will present an additional region, that gives you the option to update any parent Component Item(s) that reference that released model Item. If this option is enabled, then once you click OK in the Create Revision dialog, the model document is released back to the server, and its associated temporary editor closed.

If only a single Component Item references the model, then that Item will be opened for direct editing in a Component Library document configured in its Single Component Editor mode. The entry for the linked model - in the applicable Models field for the component - is set to use that latest revision of the just-released model Item.

When multiple Component Items use the model Item, rather than separate instances of Component Libraries being opened, a single CmpLib document - configured in its Batch Editor mode - presents a merged view of the world, with all parameters and model links - used by the source component definitions - presented. A Component Library document is then opened in its associated temporary editor (direct editing), presenting the following:

  • Definitions for all components that are associated to (reference) the model Item.
  • The Model Links region shows the latest (just released) revision for that model Item.
  • The entry for the linked model - in the applicable Models field of each component definition - is set to use that latest revision of the just-released model Item.

Unless you need to make any further adjustments, simply run the Release to Server command again, to release the modified definitions into new revisions of the corresponding Component Items, back in the target managed content server.

If only a single Component Item is affected, a component rule check will be run automatically and, if no violations, the release will proceed, and the temporary Component Library editor then closed. If multiple Component Items are affected, the Release Manager dialog will appear after the component rule checking is performed. This lists all component Items that are scheduled to be released - by default all enabled for inclusion in the release.

Tips

  1. With the applicable temporary file used for a direct editing session, you do not have to complete the updating process in a single editing session - you can save your work and close the file if you wish. Altium Designer understands that this is a special file, so it retains it in the <SourceServerName> folder in the Projects panel, so that you can re-open it when you are ready, and complete the updating and re-releasing process.


Applied Parameters: Context=Project

Summary

This command is used to release the current project template being edited - through a direct editing session of the active managed content server Item - storing it as the next revision of that Item, closing the project and any temporary editors, and destroying any temporary files.

Direct editing frees you of the shackles of separate version-controlled source data. You can simply edit a supported Item type using a temporary editor loaded with the latest source direct from the server itself. And once editing is complete, the entity is re-released into a subsequent planned revision of its parent Item, and the temporary editor closed. There are no files on your hard drive, no questioning whether you are working with the correct or latest source, and no having to maintain separate version control software. The managed content server handles it all, with the highest integrity, and in a manner that greatly expedites changes to your data.

While you can still create source files under your control, the freedom offered through direct editing takes this variable out of the equation, so-to-speak. The managed content server becomes both source and target for design data, allowing you to access and edit the secure (and latest!) source, without the headache of managing two sets of data.

Access

This command can be accessed by:

  • Right-clicking over the entry for the project template - in the Projects panel - and choosing the Release to Server command from the context menu.
  • Using the Ctrl+Alt+S keyboard shortcut.
The command is only available provided the project template is open in a direct editing session.

Use

After launching the command, the Create Revision dialog will appear. The dialog reflects the next revision of the linked Project Template Item, that the project will be released into. The Comment and Description can be changed if necessary, but more importantly, use the Release Notes section to add any notes on what has been changed. After clicking OK in the dialog, the project will be released into the indicated revision of the target Item, and all temporary editors will be closed. Any temporary files (used purely to facilitate the editing) will be deleted, with their entry removed from the Projects panel.

 

Found an issue with this document? Highlight the area, then use Ctrl+Enter to report it.

Contact Us

Contact our corporate or local offices directly.

We're sorry to hear the article wasn't helpful to you.
Could you take a moment to tell us why?
200 characters remaining
You are reporting an issue with the following selected text
and/or image within the active document: