Parent page: Global Sharing
As part of its support for Global Sharing, the Altium 365 platform provides the ability to share your designs with people outside of your Workspace team - either for viewing and commenting only, or for editing - without the need to invite them into that team. This allows invited stakeholders to view/edit (as applicable) a live, work-in-progress design project, without gaining access to your full server of design data.
Once a project is managed (registered with/available to the Workspace), you can share it with others (provided you yourself have access to do so). Sharing with people outside of the Workspace team can be performed in two places:
The Share window will appear, with all the controls necessary to share the project with other users.
You can share a project for editing or for viewing, with users outside of your Workspace team. You can share with:
There are three key pieces of information to supply in the Share window when sharing with people outside of your Workspace team, as illustrated in the following image and detailed thereafter.
Choose the option required - the project will be shared with the person (people) and they will receive an email notifying them that the project has been shared with them. They can open the project in Altium Designer, or access it through the Altium 365 Platform Interface (from the Shared with Me page).
A non-team member with whom a design project has been shared live, can further share that design with others - onward sharing as it were. This can be performed from:
Access to view a shared live design in the Altium 365 Platform Interface's integrated Viewer - which opens in a separate browser tab - can be made in the following ways:
Related page: Web Viewer
The integrated Viewer used to present the data contained in a shared live design uses the Web Viewer interface. This interface offers a range of capabilities that allow detailed access to the design's data and layout. You'll be able to search, select, cross-probe, and inspect components and nets throughout the design and across the various sub-views as applicable. And when viewing the board in 2D, you can even take measurements. Other features such as the Comments system communicate directly, and in real-time, with Altium Designer.
From any document view within the integrated Viewer click the button (located in the top-right control cluster) to access the Downloads pane. This provides controls for downloading a Zip archive containing a snapshot of the WIP design project, and for generating and downloading Zip archives of a PDF of the schematic prints and the PCB in STEP format.
You can delete any shared live design that has been shared with you, and is currently presented on the Shared with Me page of the Altium 365 Platform Interface. To do so, select the design tile, click the control, and then choose the Delete command. A warning window will appear alerting you to the fact that you will lose access to the design, but other collaborators will continue to have access to it. Click the button to effect the deletion.
Valid students can get their very own 6-month Altium Designer Student License for FREE! Just fill out the form below to request your Student License today.