Permissions For Folder or Item

Created: September 19, 2017 | Updated: April 27, 2018

   

                                                   Variations of the Permissions For Folder or Item dialog
Variations of the Permissions For Folder or Item dialog

Summary

The Permissions For Folder or Item dialog allows you to edit a folder's or item's permissions settings. Existing users and roles for a selected folder can be added, edited and removed using this dialog. New users and roles can be added using the web-based interface.

For information on Controlling Access to Server Content, click here.

Choose the desired dialog below then click the link to access the information about that variation of the Permissions for Folder or Item dialog. 

Permissions For Folder

The Permissions For Folder dialogThe Permissions For Folder dialog

Access

The dialog is accessed by clicking the Folder Permissions link on the bottom left of the Folder Properties dialog.

Options/Controls

  • Sharing With Specific Users And Roles - displays the users with access to the folder, as well as whether they can edit and their status. Use the Can Edit checkbox to enable/disable a user's ability to make changes to the folder. 

Additional Controls

  • Add - use the drop-down to access the following: 
    • Add User - click to open the Search For Users dialog, which enables you to search for and select an existing user.
    • Add Role - click to open the Search For Role dialog, which enables you to search for and select an existing role.
    • Add Public - click to share with Public.
Adding Public indicates that there are virtually no permission restrictions on this folder.
  • Remove - click to remove selected roles or users.
  • Permissions can be modified by - use the drop-down to select who can change permissions of the folder. Choices are Owner and Collaborators.
  • Apply to Children - enable this option to apply the same users, roles and permissions to any child folders. This option is enabled by default.

Permissions For New Item

The Permissions For New Item dialogThe Permissions For New Item dialog

Access

This dialog is accessed by clicking the Item Permissions link in the Create New Item dialog.

Options/Controls

  • Sharing With Specific Users And Roles - displays the users with access to the item, as well as whether they can edit and their status. Use the Can Edit checkbox to enable/disable a user's ability to make changes to the item. 

Additional Controls

  • Add - use the drop-down to access the following: 
    • Add User - click to open the Search For Users dialog, which enables you to search for and select an existing user.
    • Add Role - click to open the Search For Role dialog, which enables you to search for and select an existing role.
    • Add Public - click to share with Public.
Adding Public indicates that there are virtually no permission restrictions on this item.
  • Remove - click to remove selected roles or users.
  • Permissions can be modified by - use the drop-down to select who can change permissions of the item. Choices are Owner and Collaborators.
  • Apply to Children - enable this option to apply the same users, roles and permissions to any children. This option is enabled by default.
Only the owner of the Item is allowed to change the permissions.

Permissions For Project

The Permissions For Project dialogThe Permissions For Project dialog

Access

The Permissions For Project dialog is accessed in the following ways:

  • From a managed project, click Project » Project Permissions.
  • Right-click on a managed project in the Projects panel then click Project Permissions.

Options/Controls

  • Sharing With Specific Users And Roles - displays the users with access to the project, as well as whether they can edit and their status. Use the Can Edit checkbox to enable/disable a user's ability to make changes to the project.

Additional Controls

  • Add - use the drop-down to access the following: 
    • Add User - click to open the Search For Users dialog, which enables you to search for and select an existing user.
    • Add Role - click to open the Search For Role dialog, which enables you to search for and select an existing role.
    • Add Public - click to share with Public.
    Adding Public indicates that there are virtually no permission restrictions on this project.
    • Remove - click to remove selected roles or users.
Found an issue with this document? Highlight the area, then use Ctrl+Enter to report it.

联系我们

联系原厂或当地办公室

We're sorry to hear the article wasn't helpful to you.
Could you take a moment to tell us why?
200 characters remaining
You are reporting an issue with the following selected text
and/or image within the active document: