The Share Project and Snapshot on the Web tabs of the Share dialog
The Share dialog supports the ability to share your design projects with members of your Workspace and with others, anywhere around the world, directly from within the software. The Share dialog will present guidance in order to properly prepare you for sharing your chosen design project.
The Share dialog is accessed in the following ways:
Choose a collapsible section below to access information about the multiple iterations of the Share dialog.
The Share Project tab of the Share dialog when connected to a Workspace
With a design project registered with (made available to) a connected Workspace, you have the ability to share that live (WIP) design with other members of your Workspace using the Share Project tab of the Share dialog.
This iteration of the Share dialog is accessed by selecting the Share Project tab on the left-hand side of the dialog when you are connected to a Workspace.
Shared with – click the drop-down to check who already has access to the project. The region will expand to show with whom the project is shared (such as administrators, Workspace members, or individuals) and whether they have editing rights (Can Edit) or can view and comment on the project only (Can View). The Can Edit / Can View drop-down also allows you to remove shared access from individuals, or everyone in the Workspace if desired.
The Snapshot on the Web tab of the Share dialog when signed in to your Altium account
The Snapshot on the Web tab allows you to capture a snapshot of the select project in its current state, which is made available for viewing and commenting, providing for wider collaboration with others through the Web. This can be useful for an on-the-fly design review, sharing a particular design milestone, or even stimulating contextual discussion. The Snapshot on the Web tab is available on each iteration of the Share dialog, meaning any user who is currently viewing a project within Altium NEXUS can share a snapshot of that design – irrespective of whether or not they have shared access to that design themselves.
This iteration of the Share dialog is accessed by selecting the Snapshot on the Web tab on the left-hand side of the dialog.
Share with specific people – click the Share with specific people control to switch the sharing mode (for sharing a design snapshot) to allow you to share with one or more specific people. The invitation will be sent via email. Recipients will have access to view the design snapshot through the Web-based Altium 365 Platform Interface. Such a design snapshot is available permanently through the platform and commenting on the design is possible with this level of sharing. After entering the full email of a person with whom you want to share the snapshot and press Enter, click the button. The project itself is packaged into a Zip archive using Altium NEXUS's Project Packager, then uploaded to the Altium 365 platform. Confirmation of upload is provided once the process completes.
The Share dialog when attempting to post a comment with a mentioned user who has no access to the project
If you are connected to the Workspace and are attempting to post a comment with a mentioned user who has no access to the project, the dialog opens to provide this user with access to this project.
This iteration of the Share dialog is accessed when you are connected to the Workspace and are attempting to post a comment with a mentioned user who has no access to the project, the dialog opens to provide this user with access to this project.
The Share dialog when you are connected to a different Workspace
If you attempting to share an open project that is registered with a different Workspace, you will be prompted to switch to the Workspace in which that project resides to share.
This iteration of the Share dialog is accessed when you are attempting to share an open project that is registered with a different Workspace.
Contact our corporate or local offices directly.