Altium NEXUS Documentation

CancelFileLessEditing

Created: October 2, 2017 | Updated: October 2, 2017

Parent page: WorkspaceManager Commands

The following pre-packaged resources, derived from this base command, are available:


Applied Parameters: None

Summary

This command is used to cancel direct editing of the active managed content server Item, closing the temporary editor, and destroying the temporary file without releasing any changes made since the original editing session was launched.

Direct editing frees you of the shackles of separate version-controlled source data. You can simply edit a supported Item type using a temporary editor loaded with the latest source direct from the server itself. And once editing is complete, the entity is re-released into a subsequent planned revision of its parent Item, and the temporary editor closed. There are no files on your hard drive, no questioning whether you are working with the correct or latest source, and no having to maintain separate version control software. The managed content server handles it all, with the highest integrity, and in a manner that greatly expedites changes to your data.

While you can still create source files under your control, the freedom offered through direct editing takes this variable out of the equation, so-to-speak. The managed content server becomes both source and target for design data, allowing you to access and edit the secure (and latest!) source, without the headache of managing two sets of data.

Access

This command can be accessed by:

  • Clicking the  button, on the Standard toolbar of the temporary editor (associated with the document currently being edited).
  • Right-clicking over the entry for the document - in the <SourceServerName> folder on the Projects panel - and choosing the Cancel Edit command from the context menu.

Use

After launching the command, a dialog will appear asking for confirmation to discard all changes and cancel editing of the document. Click Yes to do so. If the document was open as the active document, the temporary editor will be closed. The temporary file (used purely to facilitate the editing) will be deleted, with its entry removed from the Projects panel.

Tips

  1. With the applicable temporary file used for a direct editing session, you do not have to complete the updating process in a single editing session - you can save your work and close the file if you wish. Altium NEXUS understands that this is a special file, so it retains it in the <SourceServerName> folder in the Projects panel, so that you can re-open it when you are ready, and complete the updating and re-releasing process.


Applied Parameters: Context=Project

Summary

This command is used to cancel direct editing of the active Project Template Item, closing the project and all temporary editors, and destroying any temporary files, without releasing any changes made since the original editing session was launched.

Direct editing frees you of the shackles of separate version-controlled source data. You can simply edit a supported Item type using a temporary editor loaded with the latest source direct from the managed content server itself. And once editing is complete, the entity is re-released into a subsequent planned revision of its parent Item, and the temporary editor closed. There are no files on your hard drive, no questioning whether you are working with the correct or latest source, and no having to maintain separate version control software. The managed content server handles it all, with the highest integrity, and in a manner that greatly expedites changes to your data.

While you can still create source files under your control, the freedom offered through direct editing takes this variable out of the equation, so-to-speak. The managed content server becomes both source and target for design data, allowing you to access and edit the secure (and latest!) source, without the headache of managing two sets of data.

Access

This command is accessed by right-clicking over the entry for the project template - in the Projects panel - and choosing the Cancel Edit command from the context menu.

Use

After launching the command, a dialog will appear asking for confirmation to discard all changes and cancel editing of the document. Click Yes to do so. The project, and all temporary editors will be closed. Any temporary files (used purely to facilitate the editing) will be deleted, with their entry removed from the Projects panel.

 

Found an issue with this document? Highlight the area, then use Ctrl+Enter to report it.

Contact Us

Contact our corporate or local offices directly.

We're sorry to hear the article wasn't helpful to you.
Could you take a moment to tell us why?
200 characters remaining
You are reporting an issue with the following selected text
and/or image within the active document: