Altium Designer Documentation

Create or Edit Revision (When Releasing)

Created: 11.11.2021 | Updated: 11.11.2021

The Edit Revision dialog
The Edit Revision dialog

Summary

The Edit Revision dialog allows you to add release notes and modify the name and description for the initial/next revision of the item that is being saved to the Workspace.

Access

After creating or modifying an item, the dialog is accessed as part of the process of saving into the initial/next revision of that item.

To learn more about the process of saving a planned revision to the Workspace, read Creating and Editing Content Directly through a Workspace.

Options/Controls

  • Release Notes – click in the text field to add release notes for the item revision.
  • Name – the name of the item.
  • Revision – displays the full item-revision ID.
  • Description – displays any description associated with the item. Click in the text field to edit the description.
  • OK – click to save the item back to the Workspace; its associated temporary editor is closed.

The Create Revision dialog
The Create Revision dialog

Summary

The Create Revision dialog allows you to add release notes and modify the name and description for the next revision of the item that is being saved to the Workspace. If desired, revisions of parent items related to (referencing) the current revision of the item being saved can be updated also.

Access

After creating or modifying an item, the dialog is accessed as part of the process of releasing the next revision of that item.

To learn more about the process of releasing a planned revision to the Workspace, read Creating and Editing Content Directly through a Workspace.

Options/Controls

  • Release Notes – click in the text field to add release notes for the item revision.
  • Name – the name of the item.
  • Revision – displays the name of the item revision. Click the button to open the Choose Item Revision dialog (a trimmed-down version of the Explorer panel) in which you can select the desired revision.
  • Description – displays any description associated with the item. Click in the text field to edit the description.
  • Update items related to <ModelItemRevision> – enable this option to update revisions of parent items that are referencing the current revision of the item you are releasing. This option is enabled by default. Note that this option only appears when:
    • creating a new revision of a domain model (symbols, footprints, simulation models) referenced by revisions of component items.
    • creating a new revision of a component template referenced by revisions of component items.
    • creating a new revision of a 3D model referenced by revisions of footprint model items.
    If you want to keep all related parent Items using the current revision of the Item, disable this option. Only the item itself will then be saved.
  • OK – click to save the item back to the Workspace; its associated temporary editor is closed.
Обнаружили проблему в этом документе? Выделите область и нажмите Ctrl+Enter, чтобы оповестить нас.

Связаться с нами

Связаться с нашими Представительствами напрямую

We're sorry to hear the article wasn't helpful to you.
Could you take a moment to tell us why?
200 characters remaining
Вы сообщаете о проблеме, связанной со следующим выделенным текстом
и/или изображением в активном документе: